Composing new SMS: auto-fill contact?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Zeroid, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. Zeroid

    Zeroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DENVER, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my old HTC Mogul when I would compose a new SMS or MMS I would simply start to type in the name of my contact, let's say "Francesca", and would find the contact(s) after 2 or 3 charactor inputs ie. "Fra" would bring her name up and complete the input with her appropriate phone number. It seems that Droid does not do this?

    Is there a setting to activate this or is there simply better third party SMS software I should be using?:icon_eek:
     
  2. blowdryl

    blowdryl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would be nice wouldn't it?
    I've found it able to do what you ask if you use the phone number instead of the name, but that means you have to remember people's phone numbers.:icon_evil:
     
  3. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    you're missing one very important step; your contact HAS to have an entry in the mobile phone field. how is the phone supposed to know where you want to send a text to? SMS sends to mobile devices by default anyway.

    once you have created a mobile phone entry for your contact, you can search for them by typing their name.

    see my sig for GMAIL contacts and you.
     
  4. Zeroid

    Zeroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DENVER, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found a solution: just downloaded the Handcent SMS app and it does -EXACTLY- what the built-in Droid SMS software does not, as well as a plethora of other options for your SMS needs. Awesome. (rather than going through and adding mobile phone entries in all the contacts :( )
     
  5. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    The solution is to setup your contacts correctly.
     
  6. blowdryl

    blowdryl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ERXCELLENT, thanks for the pro tip!
     
  7. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    640k is right... you have to have a 'mobile' number in the contact info. How would the phone send a text to a 'home' number... it considers any number other than "mobile" as a land line.
     
  8. Zuch321

    Zuch321 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow this completely solved my issue. I wish I could rep you for the Hartford Whalers logo too.

    It is sort of stupid how it defaults to 'home,' as most of the numbers I type are cell phones.
     
Search tags for this page
android 4.3 sms autofill contacts
,
android contact sms autocomplete phone number
,
android no longer auto populates contact information texts
,
android voice actions text doesnt populate to field
,
auto fill s4 text message
,
contact auto-fill android
,

new fill it sms

,
samsung autofill contacts
,
samsung galaxy s4 messaging auto fill from my contacts
,
samsung galaxy s4 messaging autofill from my contacts