Complete wipe without losing root

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by lordegregious, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. lordegregious

    lordegregious Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've searched the forum and can't really figure out how to do a good clean start over for installing bugless beast. I've used it for a long time and noticed mine is slower than my friend's unrooted droid.

    Anyways I'd just like to figure out how to do a good redo of everything. Maybe there is a tutorial somewhere about doing things over because my sd card looks awful too and I want to sell my touch and try to squeeze all the space I can out of the droid.

    I was waiting for .5 but I'm sick of my phone being so slow.
     
  2. lmt1979

    lmt1979 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    clean install ?

    If you want to just wipe everything, boot into (I'm assuming you're using SPRecovery) recovery and do a data wipe/cache wipe. Pop out the SD Card while the phone is off and format it in a computer. Make sure you format in FAT32 file system. Then just get your hands on a new update.zip for Beast or whatever ROM you want to try and install it as an update.zip. This will make everything (mostly) clean again. I've done it a few times just to clear up and issues I might have.

    There may be better ways but to be sure of what you mean, you don't want to lose root/superuser access do you? If so there is a way to unroot the phone as well.

    Hell you can even try my take on Bugless if you like.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/an...east-0-4-frf84bv04-smoked-glass-romed-up.html
     
  3. lordegregious

    lordegregious Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good, thanks.

    Is one wipe of cache good or should I be doing it over and over. I don't want to lose root, just get my phone running better like I read about in the threads here.

    EDIT: I followed those instructions exactly and I'm noticing that apps are being repopulated into my app drawer. I'm absolutely confused as to where they are coming from because I wiped everything at least twice.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2010
  4. moviemogul

    moviemogul Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0

    This proves that people don't read...wow...

    Ok, BB 0.4 uses 2.2 FroYo as it's base. A feature in 2.2 is automatic app downloading. When you do a wipe, Google remembers your apps that you download and redownloads them for you after you log into the market.
     
  5. lordegregious

    lordegregious Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh alright thanks.
     
Search tags for this page
how do i update without losing root access? 2014
,

how do you wipe data and usage from a htc droid dna to sell

,
how to full wipe and keep root
,
how to wipe data with out losing root
,

how to wipe phone and keep root

,

how to wipe sd card on android without losing root

,
how to wipe your phone without losing root
,
wipe android keeping root
,

wipe rooted android phone

,
wiping phone without losing root