Complete rooting noob with a rooted phone! oh no!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Infeltrate, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i got one of my friends to root my phone for me. But I had to do a factory reset to get my contacts back. Anyway I lost all of the apps or widget things he had installed. And i don't know how to get them for free?

    but heres the main problem: He said its running 2.2 but i got a system update available. should i do it or no?

    Also i deactivated my phone and reactivated it and its not working
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    do you have any recovery systems installed (SPRecovery ot ClockWork)

    Edit: what do you want in the long run. do you want root again or no?
     
  3. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i have sprecovery
     
  4. Ludacrosse05

    Ludacrosse05 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    weird, he posted on droidforums..
     
  6. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what do i do? if it loads a stock rom i dont really care. This whole rooted thing is turning out to be a lot of trouble
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    well you can pick what you want to do. you can unroot and let teh OTA updates be how u get new software

    or you can stay rooted and install ROMs and themes and what you choose

    o yea go ahead and install the OTA but when you try to install it it will fail (due to SPRecovery) then it should stop prompting you
     
  8. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok on to the other questions.. how do i get those widgets/apps back? one of them was setcpu which im guessing is important
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    reinstall them from the market and long press the screen to add a widget.

    check out my sig on how to reroot
     
  10. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    he said there was a way to get them for free?
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    setcpu is on the devs thread over at xda

    other free apps... not gonna find it on here. we support the devs so thats a big no.
     
  12. Infeltrate

    Infeltrate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so how would i go about getting it on my phone?