Complete How-To Root, Busybox, Flash/Recovery, Framework-res.apk, custom boot ani...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by csmith197, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. Joomla12
    Offline

    Joomla12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So whenever I try to run "./busybox" in ADB, I get a permission denied error. What am I doing wrong?

    I've rooted it already to clear any future questioning.
     
  2. Droidist
    Offline

    Droidist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! I got the animation boot done! Thanks!
     
  3. forkup
    Offline

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joomla12, did you change the permissions on busybox to 755? Change to the directory where you put busybox and type chmod 755 busybox. /system has to be mounted as rw to do this.
     
  4. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Need Help Installing Busybox

    Hey Guys,

    I have rooted my droid. I can get to the su prompt, but when I type: cd/data/local-it says not found. Any help, please.
     
  5. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You missed a space. It should be
    Code:
    cd /data/local
     
  6. mrdodgers Droid
    Offline

    mrdodgers Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I hate to Bother also but I tried to root my droid and it says failed did not install I tried once before do I need to erase the old update.zip files before I try again? Please help Thank You Bill
     
  7. cplus
    Offline

    cplus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    csmith you are awsome. THank you so much.
     
  8. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try specifying the absolute path instead of the relative path?
    Code:
    busybox --install /system/xbin
     
  10. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya same result. No matter what command , it attempts to install to the /data/busybox/ directory.

    Has me stumped.

    Only thing I haven't tried is a different busybox file, not sure if that would make a difference or not.
     
  11. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it appears it was the busybox file that i installed.

    Someone decided to set it up to install straight to that directory only.

    Go figure.
     
  12. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you find another one that wasn't hardcoded? Thinking back, I think mine was hard-coded to install to /data/local/bin, and I had to make that directory be a symlink to /system/xbin to make it install in the right place.
     
  13. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya I found one that wasn't hardcoded and it installed fine now.
     
  14. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got my new droid from verizon and upgraded to 2.0.1. With the fresh install and no third party apps I have been trying to root for about 3 hours with no success. I know the process as I rooted my previous droid in 5 minutes and followed the guide this time as well. Problem is I get the message saying that the upgrade is successful yet am not being recognized as root. The weird thing is if I use ADB or a terminal app and type su it pauses for awhile and then I get "#" but I am not actually root I am still unknown... Anyone have any ideas? I have already reapplied a manual 2.0.1 fresh image and tried the procedure again and still no joy...

    $ su
    # whoami
    whoami: unknown uid 0
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  15. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    uid 0 is root
     
Search tags for this page
busybox recovery
,

busybox root

,
complete how root busybox flash recovery
,
custom busybox
,
flash busybox
,
how to root android with busybox
,
how to root using busybox
,
how to root with busybox
,
how to use busybox apk
,
root with busybox