Complete How-To Root, Busybox, Flash/Recovery, Framework-res.apk, custom boot ani...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by csmith197, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. Joomla12
    Offline

    Joomla12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So whenever I try to run "./busybox" in ADB, I get a permission denied error. What am I doing wrong?

    I've rooted it already to clear any future questioning.
  2. Droidist
    Offline

    Droidist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! I got the animation boot done! Thanks!
  3. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joomla12, did you change the permissions on busybox to 755? Change to the directory where you put busybox and type chmod 755 busybox. /system has to be mounted as rw to do this.
  4. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Need Help Installing Busybox

    Hey Guys,

    I have rooted my droid. I can get to the su prompt, but when I type: cd/data/local-it says not found. Any help, please.
  5. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You missed a space. It should be
    Code:
    cd /data/local
  6. mrdodgers Droid
    Offline

    mrdodgers Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi I hate to Bother also but I tried to root my droid and it says failed did not install I tried once before do I need to erase the old update.zip files before I try again? Please help Thank You Bill
  7. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    csmith you are awsome. THank you so much.
  8. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
  9. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try specifying the absolute path instead of the relative path?
    Code:
    busybox --install /system/xbin
  10. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ya same result. No matter what command , it attempts to install to the /data/busybox/ directory.

    Has me stumped.

    Only thing I haven't tried is a different busybox file, not sure if that would make a difference or not.
  11. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Well it appears it was the busybox file that i installed.

    Someone decided to set it up to install straight to that directory only.

    Go figure.
  12. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you find another one that wasn't hardcoded? Thinking back, I think mine was hard-coded to install to /data/local/bin, and I had to make that directory be a symlink to /system/xbin to make it install in the right place.
  13. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ya I found one that wasn't hardcoded and it installed fine now.
  14. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got my new droid from verizon and upgraded to 2.0.1. With the fresh install and no third party apps I have been trying to root for about 3 hours with no success. I know the process as I rooted my previous droid in 5 minutes and followed the guide this time as well. Problem is I get the message saying that the upgrade is successful yet am not being recognized as root. The weird thing is if I use ADB or a terminal app and type su it pauses for awhile and then I get "#" but I am not actually root I am still unknown... Anyone have any ideas? I have already reapplied a manual 2.0.1 fresh image and tried the procedure again and still no joy...

    $ su
    # whoami
    whoami: unknown uid 0
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  15. mammlouk
    Offline

    mammlouk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uid 0 is root
  16. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understand that but the fact that it was still saying "unknown" is what was throwing me. Well it is kinda working and kind of not... I actually have a feeling that this phone is possibly defective because apps that did work just fine on my last rooted phone are crashing and not working now. Adfree refuses to run correctly among many others
  17. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ya sounds like it could be bad.
    With root you could just flash the clean 2.01 ROM with root that's posted on this forum, but if you can't even get root....maybe 3rd phone is the charm for ya.:icon_eek:
  18. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea I was able to get nandroid loaded finally and loaded the clean 2.0.1 on the phone but the same crap... I'm taking this one back tonight as well. I also am mad because it has the "purple" leds on the face instead of the solid white ones which is driving me crazy!
  19. nothing0
    Offline

    nothing0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IN
    I'm stuck on the same step. Where did you get the correct file?
  20. evilsock
    Offline

    evilsock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    knox county TN
    ok im having trouble understanding the lingo in 1st page of how to remove verizon crap, ive rooted but am a noob otherwise, dont understand what yaffs 2 and the other commands are, i goto su and try steps but it fc, if anyone can help me id be forever greatfull, id but u a beer if u pm me get my gf s number and call and walk me through some things, please help a noob ive posted threads and paople just paste links, i need personal assistance
Search tags for this page
busybox apk
,
busybox recovery
,

busybox root

,
complete how root busybox flash recovery
,
custom busybox
,
flash busybox
,
how to root android with busybox
,
how to root using busybox
,
how to root with busybox
,
how to use busybox apk
,
root busybox
,
root with busybox