Complete How-To Root, Busybox, Flash/Recovery, Framework-res.apk, custom boot ani...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by csmith197, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. astevens54

    astevens54 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Nice thanks for the post.
     
  2. qoncept

    qoncept Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I type su nothing happens, cursor goes to a new line and I don't get a prompt. What am I doing wrong?

    Code:
    Jared:~ jared$ adb shell
    $ su
    
    
    At that point, the cursor is in the like after su and doesn't do anything.
     
  3. Finnstang

    Finnstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have a popup on your phone asking you to accept the root connection?
     
  4. Quickster357

    Quickster357 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Frigid North of Central US
    Ratings:
    +0
    to do the boot animations in a terminal on the phone:
    (i used better terminal pro w/ enhanced shell installed (to do so click the check sign on almquist shell under preferences and exit program. it will download the expansion). i also believe you can use busybox if that's installed as well)

    su
    mount -o remount,rw /system/
    cp {dir where bootanimation.zip is (my case /sdcard/download/)} bootanimation.zip so it will look like this:
    cp /sdcard/download/bootanimation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip

    done! exit and restart to see the magic you've made. :)

    without all the explanations:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw /system/
    cp /sdcard/download/bootanimation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip

    how to block over-the-air updates in terminal: (again I used better terminal pro) (chmod can be 700 or 755, doesn't matter)

    su
    cd /system/etc/security/
    chmod 755 otacerts.zip
    mv otacerts.zip otacerts.zip.bak

    done! exit program and you're good to go.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  5. hypetech

    hypetech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the downside of the call audio quality modification? It seems like if it was all good, it would be that way by default :\
     
  6. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Battery life takes a hit while you are on call. That's about it.
     
  7. gcroberson

    gcroberson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I enter "chmod 755 otacerts.zip" it says that file is read only...how do I change it to r/w?

    Edit: Never mind I got it.
    If anyone else is having the same problem I used root explorer and pressed "mount as r/w". That should fix it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  8. blu1080

    blu1080 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Great write up!:)
     
  9. Breezer23

    Breezer23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm - I have the SDK installed - I'm getting this error for Busybox upon using the --install command. (View attached JPEG). Any idea?
    -Travis
     
  10. Jebtrix

    Jebtrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to use busybox --install .

    You need the period at the end to tell it install to current directory :) I missed the same thing.
     
  11. Jebtrix

    Jebtrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just some tips

    Since mounting system as readwrite is becoming tedious to do over and over thru terminal emulator on Droid here is a tip to speed things up

    Create a txt file named sysrw and paste:
    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    echo **System mounted as Read-Write**
    
    Create a txt file named sysro and paste:
    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    echo **System mounted as Read-Only**
    sync
    echo **Sync\'d**
    
    Since its linux I'd recommend conforming the text files to Unix end-of-line format (which is LF). I prefer Notepad++
    Place the files in /system/xbin. Now you can just type sysrw for readwrite access then just finish up with sysro :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
  12. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    To make it even easier - once you install busybox and use that mount command instead of the one in /system/bin, you can just type:

    mount -o rw,remount /system
    mount -o ro,remount /system

    No need to specify the device or filesystem type for already-mounted filesystems. Only with the busybox version of mount, though - the built-in version of mount still requires the fill commandline.
     
Search tags for this page
busybox recovery
,

busybox root

,
complete how root busybox flash recovery
,
flash busybox
,
how to root android with busybox
,
how to root using busybox
,
how to root with busybox
,
how to use busybox apk
,
root busybox
,
root with busybox