Compcache?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Darkseider, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    I searched these forums and well... to no avail I have to ask the question.

    Chevy do your kernels support compcache? If not will they and when?

    Sorry if it has already been asked but the forum search needs a little love.
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    They currently do not - enabling SWAP in the kernel creates a bootloop (at least for me). Since I know it is possible that only a small % of phones can have issues with kernels, maybe mine is. When I get back from vacation, I will create a compcache kernel for you all to try - no promises it will work though ;)
     
  3. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick response Chevy! Have fun on your vacation! I look forward to testing it out! If it bootloops, meh? That's what Nandroids are for! :)
     
  4. racketier

    racketier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump for compcache support!
     
  5. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Patiently awaiting Chevy to return from vacation....
     
  6. soondolee

    soondolee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is compcache???
     
  7. mtz_gto

    mtz_gto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found this to be the best explination here:


    http://tinyurl.com/26kq9cj


    Hope this helps.
     
  8. Blackbeard

    Blackbeard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump :) Did anything become of this? Chevy, if you're still on vacation then I'm extremely jealous.
     
  9. boostedhonda

    boostedhonda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    740
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't wait to try the kernel(s) out.
     
  10. jeston

    jeston Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    He's been back for quite a while now, hence the reason we have 4.8. Anyway, if you want to see what happened with his compcache kernel test, see his thread here.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  11. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm hoping that compcache gets running on SS. I tried slayhers kernel on this, 4.8, but I couldn't that ramzswap.ko file anywhere, and a couple of the other modules. I switched to UD 1.0.0 that just came out cuz I heard it had it. I enabled it, but there was no way to check if it was working. SetCPU would force close everytime I clicked anything in it. And terminal emulator wouldn't work either.

    It does have some very impressive features like adjusting CPU frequencies, but I couldn't find any options for setting profiles like when the screen is off. I know Pete made a fix for his BB 0.5 ROM to make it work...wondering if Chevy would be able to maybe do the same thing. Get some collaboration going here you know what I'm saying
     
Search tags for this page

kcompcached

,
kcompcached android battery
,
kcompcached battery