compcache problems after flashing stagefright fix

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by joeybarclay, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    so im running sapphire v1 and i really love the compcache ability but after i flashed the stagefright fix for streaming audio i cant seem to get it to work. this is what i get in the terminal
    #compcache on
    loading ramzswap module ... modprobe: chdir(/lib/modules): no such file or directory
    FAIL
     
  2. BasilofBakerStreet
    Offline

    BasilofBakerStreet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry for the ignorant question, what is compcache?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    its an option in sapphire that helps people having problems with screen redraws.
    my phone has screen redraws so much its crazy i need compcache.
     
  4. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's a feature in Sapphire that is something like swap memory....I think?

    All I know is it got rid of my redraws 100%

    BTW- Hello Middleboro? What's that about...? I live in Middleboro, Ma
     
  5. BasilofBakerStreet
    Offline

    BasilofBakerStreet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't mean to hijack this thread. And thanks for the responses. The hi from... is just part of my sig that shows you where you are or your ISP.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. triplecrown
    Offline

    triplecrown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jackson, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    The compcache settings to turn on are in Gem Settings. No need to run it in terminal.
     
  7. mjones73
    Offline

    mjones73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The stagefright patch only updates some lib files associated with stagefright, by chance have you installed anything else like a new kernel, theme, etc... I just did the patch myself and I'm not seeing the same problem.

    Can you confirm you have a /system/lib/modules directory?

    Re-installing a cvpcs kernel may help, I believe they have the needed modules packaged with them.
     
  8. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    its says its on in gem settings but i can tell its off and terminal says compcache is off
     
  9. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    all i have flashed is the fix and i have a /system/lib/modules directory
    i cant ever find cvpcs kernels can u please post a link
     
  10. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    so i am thinking about flashing p3 droids sapphire kernel and then the ramzswap module. i never flashed a module before is there anything special i should do?
     
  11. mjones73
    Offline

    mjones73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the kernels are linked on the cvpcs wiki...

    releases:sapphire-1.0.0 [CVPCS Sapphire Wiki]

    Scroll down til you see them, download the one you want (I use and recommend the 250-1000 lv kernel) and install it via recovery as an update.zip.
     
  12. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thank you very much
     
  13. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just flashed the stock kernel and I'm still getting the same error. Should I try p3 droids sapphire kernel and flash his module for ramzswap since that seems to be the area with the problem?
     
  14. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    no luck with any kernels it looks like i have to reflash sapphire :(