1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Compcache on 3.1.1?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by Darksthour, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I was wondering if the stock kernel for 3.1.1 has compcache enabled and if that might help with GB's aggressive task killer. I never really had luck with getting compcache to work before so I figured I would ask someone who would know.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. michael_campbell
    Offline

    michael_campbell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
  3. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To enable compcache try the primed kernel from the CM section in DF.
  4. michael_campbell
    Offline

    michael_campbell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.

    That does seem to work, but the really good battery life I was getting out of the stock kernel has gone to $#@!. =(
  5. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't win them all but if you want cm zram access that's the only kernel I know of that supports it. I'd suggest you grab MS overclock & look at how you adjust the voltage & scripts from the Prime thread if you haven't already.
  6. michael_campbell
    Offline

    michael_campbell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    It baffles me that compcache is a setting in UD/CM, but the stock kernel doesn't seem to support it.
  7. b-jammin21
    Offline

    b-jammin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just gave this a try and it seems to be working great for me so far. Not to mention, no negative affect on battery life either. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Play a jam!
Search tags for this page

compcache battery life