Compcache Capable Kernels

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by EnJoY, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. sonicfreak360
    Offline

    sonicfreak360 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might want to add chevy's new kernals to the list, he finally got compcache working :D

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  2. juniorjwh
    Offline

    juniorjwh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Please add the link. I couldn't find a one stop shop for his work. I by no means was trying to leave him out.



    D1 MIUI 1.28 p3LV125-1250 w/ RAMZSWAP & SetCPU using Mr_DSL's BlissSuaveHD v9 Theme. And onsht1kll's Time out Mod.

    ***Thank You JAMZELLE***
  3. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Done. :greendroid:
  4. adr3nalin3
    Offline

    adr3nalin3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    link not working :(
  5. hyperdude
    Offline

    hyperdude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Chevy took down the link to those kernels because there's apparently problems with the wifi with them.
  6. juniorjwh
    Offline

    juniorjwh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Is there a script to enable compcache/ramzswap to start on boot?

    D1 MIUI 1.2.11 p3 LV125-1250 with ramzswap module & SetCPU using Mr_DSL's BlissSuaveHD v9 Theme. And onsht1kll's Time out Mod.

    ***Thank You JAMZELLE & TP4BAMA***
  7. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Link fixed. RZ kernels added.
  8. hyperdude
    Offline

    hyperdude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The link for chevy's kernels is broken actually. You fixed the text in the link, but not the URL.
  9. bthomp21
    Offline

    bthomp21 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  10. juniorjwh
    Offline

    juniorjwh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    I've found increasing your vm heap size to be the best way to improve performance. Compcache is nice, but it seems as though you need to monitor it from utilizing all of the swap. Otherwise when it becomes full it cripples the phone, until you shut compcache off.

    D1 MIUI 1.2.11 p3 LV125-1250 with ramzswap module & SetCPU using Mr_DSL's BlissSuaveHD v9 Theme. And onsht1kll's Time out Mod.

    ***Thank You JAMZELLE & TP4BAMA***
  11. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Fixed again... Not sure how that stayed broken.
  12. juniorjwh
    Offline

    juniorjwh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Try running this command in terminal emulator b4 initializing and starting swap.

    sysctl -w vm.swappiness=0


    This "throttles" swap/compcache so the kernel doesn't use swap in excess.

    Just passing the info



    D1 MIUI 1.2.11 p3 LV125-1250 with ramzswap module & SetCPU using Mr_DSL's BlissSuaveHD v9 Theme. And onsht1kll's Time out Mod.

    ***Thank You JAMZELLE & TP4BAMA***
  13. WildcatRudy
    Offline

    WildcatRudy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near the lake in SCS, MI
    Regarding the new Chevy kernels--are these compcache-capable kernels, though? I'm so whacked with school work and paying work right now that I need a "for dummies" version to see if I can getting anything working on my D1.
  14. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    My kernels are zram ready (the new compcache method), please see the deprimed forum link in my signature.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  15. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    You may as well not run compcache with a swappiness of 0, I run a swappiness of 18 and rarely have to flush and restart compcache.
  16. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Updated link for mine (now LZMA capable, ie will work overlaying RZ kernels):

    ChevyNo1 Kernels
  17. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Updated guys, ty. :)
  18. DanWiz
    Offline

    DanWiz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are any of the chevy kernels working with compcache on CM7? I've got it working when I install CM7, but when i put on the new kernel i get an error.
  19. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^Chevy has ramswap & CM7 needs zram. The only kernels I know of that have zram are primes & (of course) stock CM.
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yet when I try to enable swap in TE I get errors, and when I check, nothing's cached or swapped in SetCPU. Is there a trick to enabling it in CM 7?
Search tags for this page
droid charge compcache
,

facepalm x2

,
how to check kernel support comcache
,

super facepalm