Compcache broken in 3.0

Discussion in 'Liquid' started by rehack, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. rehack
    Offline

    rehack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    for droid anyway. there are 2 problems - first off, the compcache script itself attempts to execute 'rzscontrol' - and that binary hasn't been included in the rom. copying it to /system/xbin solves this problem.

    secondly, /etc/sysctl.conf overrides vm.swappiness AFTER the compcache script has set it to 30, so even enabling compcache doesn't actually do anything since this vital variable has been forced back to 0. the vm.swappiness line in /etc/sysctl.conf should be removed or set to 30.
     
  2. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Try the handle_compcache script to start compcache
     
  3. rehack
    Offline

    rehack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    that still calls the compcache script to do the actual starting/stopping, which is itself calling the non-existent rzscontrol binary. even if it could work, at startup it'd be overridden by the sysctl.conf swappiness setting of 0, which disables any swapping regardless.
     
  4. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Simply use root explorer to change the sysctl.config
     
  5. rehack
    Offline

    rehack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have. i'm just saying that compcache is broken in the release and could possibly be fixed in the next one :)
     
  6. 1FZFE
    Offline

    1FZFE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City of Medicine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just noticed this thread after commenting in the general 3.0 discussion that compcache was broken. As you have suggested, I have edited the first line of /etc/sysctl.conf and changed the value to 30. Where do I get the rzscontrol binary to paste into xbin to start the process? Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  7. 1FZFE
    Offline

    1FZFE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City of Medicine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I ended up extracting it out of another ROM and placed it in /system/xbin. Everything looks like its working correctly now after a reboot and selecting 18% in Liquid's performance menu.
     
  8. crazyjoker2
    Offline

    crazyjoker2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I have it now.

    I flashed a backup rom and copied the rzscontrol file onto my sdcard and reflashed liquid, then added it. thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011