Compass Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by 95blklsc, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. 95blklsc

    95blklsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it worked fine up until last week. I tried to recalibrate it, I turned the phone off and took out the battery as well. It simply does not find north, or move at all really. I have tried the compass program, street view, google sky, and a few others. They all have the same result, no compass movement at all.

    Time for a trip to Verizon to have them replace the phone?
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup.

    56789
     
  3. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    by calibrate, do you mean figure 8? does the phone's display rotate when you're in the browser or calendar or any app that supports rotate?

    have you tried Bubble or another gyrometer style app?
     
  4. 95blklsc

    95blklsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I did the figure eight. All of the accelerometer type apps work fine, just the compass data seems to be not moving.
     
  5. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    tri tricorder. see if you get different results.
     
  6. 95blklsc

    95blklsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried that, very cool app BTW! The magnets sensor is screwed, it isn't varying at all really. The only way I can get any sort of feedback from it is by putting one ear of my headphones near it which has a magnet in it.
     
  7. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you try making your own dock and/or use an aftermarket one? it could be that if you did, the magnet was too strong...
     
  8. 95blklsc

    95blklsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, never used a dock. I have a Verizon snap on black case so it wouldn't fit in any of them without removing the case anyway.
     
  9. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry to hear it.

    Of course, you also verified that you are not at the North Magnetic pole right?
     
  10. 95blklsc

    95blklsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Let me check.......nope don't see Santa! :)
     
  11. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Duh, he's in Costa Rica...
     
Search tags for this page
android compass not moving
,

android compass not working

,
android compass stopped working
,
compass not working in android
,
compass stopeed working on phone
,
galaxy s2 compass calibration
,
galaxy tab 2 compass not working
,
galaxy tab calibrate compass
,
galaxy tab magnetic sensor not working
,
why do compasses stop working