Company Email on my Droid Pro

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by gsu_golfer, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like to get my company email on my phone. I don't have to have anything synced from Outlook other than the email. Am I able to do this on the native app and $30 data plan through Verizon?
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    As long as they have/use Active Sync (MS Exchange) AND allow for mobile devices (specifically running Android). If they are only using BB mail servers or have mobiles blocked than no, at least not directly (you might still be able to 'forward' mail to your phone). Does your company have an online portal to access your email account (e.g. webmail.yourcompany.com)?
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    You might want to check if your allowed to access company email on a non-company device.

    Here where I work it is grounds for immediate termination.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Until the most recent changes to the email.apk's I was able to access my Exchange with the "corporate" email app. Not sure what has changed so I switched to Touchdown. It is an awesome app and well worth the price, if you have Outlook/Exchange.

    And as BnB said, definitely verify with your company to see if they have any restrictions.

    Mike
     
  5. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, if you can gain access def get TouchDown (use the free trail first). It's FAR beyond the included corporate client. If your company has the web-access you can get all the info you need from there:
    Log in, select options, on the menu on the left go to 'Mobile Devices' (if it's there, if not you have your answer).

    While BnB has a point just ask them if they 'allow non-company devices' NOT if Android is supported... they likely don't know... the idi**s at my work said that Android wouldn't/couldn't work, yeah..... they have since sent several new employees to me to help them setup their Droids after they couldn't (you might have to 'activate' the phone via the web-access portal)....
     
  6. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about the situation with the different data plans? Is that going to be a problem? I have the $30 one.

    Yes, we do have a web portal.

    At our office, you're most definitely not allowed to connect without prior permissions. I plan to discuss it with the guy that handles it sometime this week, because we'll be out on an audit together.

    They do allow non-company devices, as they don't offer a company phone anyways. At least one person there (who is also an IT guy) has a Droid, so I'm assuming mine should work.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    What is the policy for accessing via an personal computer? If the permit, does someone verify the security on a regular schedule?
     
  8. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's all you need (actually use just need the $15 one, though that was on their old pricing). The 'different' data packages (again, old pricing) were for the BlackBerries. In order for BB to connect to your exchange email you would need the 'email' package (it was $30 compared to the normal $15 internet package). With Droids you just need a internet package (cheapest one that works for you). You don't need any sort of 'exchange' or 'email' package as Droid connect via the internet (don't know what/how the BBs do it, but they've always charged extra for it, one reason RIM is hemorrhaging market share).


    Yep, means the company is allowing Android clients to connect so anyone should be able to (though they could do it on a case by case basis, but at least it's possible). Again after you get permission d/l the TouchDown app (actually do it first, don't even bother with the default client, it sucks).
     
  9. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know the policy on that. I'd have to ask. Good thing to think about, I suppose.
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Prior to retiring, I worked in IT and for me, I do not see a lot of difference between accessing the network with a handheld vs a laptop. Both are portable and can be lost or stolen. You can add software to both that will lock and or wipe should either turn up missing. Hopefully, your company will have a policy that covers them and you.
     
  11. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    ^Right on. I can't stand it when IT departments make stupid/ignorant policies... Mine currently states that 'Android devices are not allow (and are blocked from connecting to the mail servers) because they are not secure(able)'... yet they allow (AND SUPPORT) any and all WinMo devices AND iPhoneys..... sadly there are a LOT of people in IT departments today that have NO BUSINESS being there, lol.

    OP, on a personal security note one of the reasons I recommend TouchDown (in addition to functionality) is that you can set a 'remote wipe' feature to activate from a TXT. So if your phone gets lost/stolen you don't even need to access the exchange server to lock/wipe it. You simply send a txt from ANY phone with the code (the you set) in the subject line and it wipes and/or locks the phone.
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...d-exchange-discrimination-need-some-help.html


    Mike
    Others are having the same issue
     
Search tags for this page
droid for company email
,
droid x2 outcoming mail not working outlook office 365
,
how do i get corporate email on my droid?
,

how to get company email on android

,
how to get outlook email on phone company won't allow
,
how to i get my work email on my droid
,
how to recieve company e-mail on my droid
,
make e-mail on droid company
,
motorola droid office 365 corporate email setup
,
office 365 email setup motorola droid pro