colombian prisoners in my pics?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by brodyg123, May 16, 2011.

  1. brodyg123
    Offline

    brodyg123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird Photos on my Phone OOTB....

    This is my 1st time on this site & 1st time posting. I'm using a Sanding Fascinate & in my pic gallery, underneath 2 separate folders of pics, the location is labeled 'la Victoria. (Pacoa) Correctionales Dept. - I'm just guessing how to spell that correctly. I looked it up & its the name for a Colombian prison. Does this mean they have access to & are viewing my pics? Am I now totally famous among the Colombian inmate population? I know I'm posting this in the wrong area but I'm too lazy to scroll thru all the faq & I'm actually hoping this question has been asked many times & that I'm wasting the forums time because, of course, Colombian prisoners don't have access to my picture gallery!

    Any help or a referral to an earlier post would be awesome & would make me feel so much better!
    Thanks!
    Brodyg123

    This is my 1st time on this site & 1st time posting. I'm using a Sanding Fascinate & in my pic gallery, underneath 2 separate folders of pics, the location is labeled 'la Victoria. (Pacoa) Correctionales Dept. - I'm just guessing how to spell that correctly. I looked it up & its the name for a Colombian prison. Does this mean they have access to & are viewing my pics? Am I now totally famous among the Colombian inmate population? I know I'm posting this in the wrong area but I'm too lazy to scroll thru all the faq & I'm actually hoping this question has been asked many times & that I'm wasting the forums time because, of course, Colombian prisoners don't have access to my picture gallery!

    Any help or a referral to an earlier post would be awesome & would make me feel so much better!
    Thanks!
    Brodyg123


    I posted this in a different area on this forum earlier & decided it might be better if I put it in the fascinate section. Sorry if that manages to confuse anyone.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2011
  2. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Welcome to the forums! And i hope you dont take offense to this but this is the weirdest first post ive ever seen. Im not sure what to say... Folders dont mean people are viewing your pictures. If i understand what your saying correctly then on your sd card their is a folder named la whatever? This would mean somebody just created a folder...no one is watching you. Remote viewing would take the permission of an app and would require some noticeable power. I wouldnt worry about it... it=f your really being serious that is.
  3. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Welcome to the community. It is a interesting first post i will agree. Also I will agree with Ilikemoney on this one. The folders that are there on your SD Card had to be created just like creating a new folder on a computer. It def doesnt mean that someone is watching you just that someone created those folders on the SD Card. You can download an app such "ASTRO File Manager" which will allow you to look at the folders that are on the SD Card and you and find the folders that you dont want and long press them till you get the option to delete them.

    Also where Ilikemoney says that remote viewing would take permission to run and would use noticable power from the device to run that is completely true. Hope this can help
  4. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,301
    Likes Received:
    527
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    :welcome: to the forum. Is your phone a refurb? That could explain how that folder got there. Those folders could've been placed there by an app. You could try going into settings/applications/running services and see whats running. If you see something thats along the lines of "'la Victoria. (Pacoa) Correctionales Dept.", hit the Download tab, search for that app and uninstall it. Or just go to applications/manage applications and uninstall anything you dont want. If you have any questions about what you see there and what to uninstall, just ask.
  5. Hawaiian Princess
    Offline

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Welcome to the forum. Wow...definately first I heard of something like this. OK sorry, I prob would do what CJM mentioned. But then again, is this a refurbished device?

    sent from my Hawaiian Xoom...ALOHA
  6. brodyg123
    Offline

    brodyg123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    colombian masterminds!

    Its not the folders- sorry for the confusion! Its the locations of some of the pics. The majority of them are labeled correctly (or at least close enough) for where I took the pics. I don't really know what to think. I'm assuming that even if some dudes in a Colombian prison had the technology to check out private pics on a phone, my pics would rank pretty low on the excitement scale!

    I'd like to understand why its labeling my location:
    Pacoa (Cor. Departamental), Vuapés Department, Pacoa (Cor. Departamental)

    On other pics, its slightly different & it mentions the Amazon!
    I probably sound crazy but I'm really curious & I'm trying to solve a mystery. The phone is not refurbished & I just did a hard reset the other day because my pretty much brand new phone was so slow that I tried to take it back to verizon. Some of my pics were labeled Pacoa prior to the reset. Now most of them are labeled Pacoa- some labeled in the Amazon & some not.

    Is this just a stupid glitch in the location settings for my pics? I'll check to see if any unknown apps are running now.

    I hope everyone at least enjoys the oddness of my 1st post if the mystery is never solved. I appreciate the suggestions & all the help.
    Thanks
  7. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    I apologize i guess im not getting what you mean. Could you possibly show us a screen shot or a small video using another camera showing this? Maybe your using another application that involves pictures to where you possibly edited them and the pics were saved in that apps location. did you mean Picasa? Something like this application: Picasa Tool for Android | AppBrain.com . Picasa is a popular picture editer on windows and such. If you factory reset it will be hard to determine if you had this app before, but i guess it migt have reinstalled when you signed into your gmail. Can you check your apps and list them? We can try this to debunk the issue.
    *** Meh after rereading you issue picasa wouldnt fit becuase im not sure where the corrections department thing came from. Did your phone come with the sdcard? Like are you using a refurb? refurbs dont get sd cards though.... So this must mean your phone was new or bought used?
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  8. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,301
    Likes Received:
    527
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    What I'm guessing, by saying location, is your phone is placing them near a correctional facility. Instead of where you actually took the picture. If that's the case, try turning on your gps and wifi. Even if you're not near a wifi router. Then take a picture and see if that corrects it. Also, when you run google maps does it place you where you actually are? If not, you may need to calibrate your gps. Let us know how it goes.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
  9. brodyg123
    Offline

    brodyg123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    colombian masterminds!

    I got the phone at verizon around the last week in April. Its not refurbished or anything like that & it came with a 16gb SD card. I've been editing pics with Pho.to Lab (at least I think that's how its spelled) & I thought that could be the problem except the edited pics are in a separate folder in the gallery & none of those pics are listed with a location like Pacoa Corr. Departamental.
    If I lived anywhere remotely close to that region of the world, I wouldn't be so confused by this. My GPS, while not perfect, isn't confusing the northeastern U.S. for northwestern South America. I'll see if I can borrow a friends phone & try to take a pic of the screen so we can get to the bottom of this mystery!

    I'm pretty sure I was already having this issue before downloading Pho.to Lab (before the hard reset) but I guess its possible that I'm confused. I took a couple pics yesterday that were labeled I took em in the correct location. I'm gonna check & see if the situation has changed since then.

    Hopefully screen shots will clear things up!

    Thanks again,
    Brodyg123
  10. Enjay1971
    Offline

    Enjay1971 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was getting ready to go back to Verizon today with my phone. I also have noticed the same words 'pocoa correctional dept' in my pictures under my sd.card file. I tried the setting approach you suggested but cannot find any apps ,running programs or anything else that could cause this. This is a new refurb phone they sent me last week... Suspicious....
  11. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,301
    Likes Received:
    527
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    :welcome: to the forum, Enjay1971. This "Pacoa Corr. Departamental" thing is getting weird.
  12. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Hi enjay1971! Welcome to the forums. Could you please give us a screenshot? I think i need to see this for myself to know whats going on.
  13. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    no this a new look ahead in time feature of android

    you didnt read about this new feature. it just means that in the future you will be a prisoner there. luckily my pics show disneyland as their future location.
  14. bplewis24
    Offline

    bplewis24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Best thread title ever.

    Brandon
  15. mrclean796
    Offline

    mrclean796 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My wife's phone had this happen today... this is the only reference I can find on the web... any resolution to the problem?
  16. bplewis24
    Offline

    bplewis24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Are the details exactly the same?

    Brandon
  17. jhev1
    Offline

    jhev1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this again, crashed last time. Happening here too. Suspect gps went kablooey when I took the pics. According to my gps I've been inside the arctic circle too. I really get around.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  18. jhev1
    Offline

    jhev1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the details of one of the pics that was actually taken while snowmobiling in New Hampshire, within site of Mt Washington.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  19. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Subscribed. What a bizarre glitch. I do hope you guys find a solution.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

la victoria pacoa

,
pacoa correctional dept
,
pacoa dep cor