CM7 up on the DROID3!

Discussion in 'Hashcode D3' started by Darksthour, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Darksthour

    Darksthour Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those of you waiting for cyanogenmod 7 to release for the d3 it has. I was messing around with rom manager and in the downloads section it had cm7rc3 on it. Had it installed last night before I went to bed and I have to say it's really smooth. I've tried liberty maverick and stock and nothing compares. Plus for my money you just can't beat a stock gingerbread look and feel. Just thought I would share for everyone looking to get it on your phones. No bugs yet that I have come across either.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. Darksthour

    Darksthour Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will admit though battery life isn't that great. 6 hours of use and im at 50% battery. I also have the extended battery. Gonna let it fully drain and then recharge to see its its just not calibrated.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know where this can be downloaded directly? I do have rom manager so I guess I can use that to download it...

    This should work with safestrap also right...since all roms are supposed to work with it...


    EDIT: Aww... looks like you can't download in rom manager if you don't have clockwork recovery. I don't really want to wipe out my safestrap recovery.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  4. Darksthour

    Darksthour Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I have clockwork. However when I download it I didn't use Rom Manager to install it. It saves it on your sd card in a folder and from there I just moved it to the root of my sd card and booted into recovery. I'm sure if you google around the internets there is the .zip floating around somewhere though. Just sharing the news that a working version is out there.
     
  5. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't realise the version of cyanogenmod in Rom Manager was actually hashcodes alpha version he released on the 16th.... doh

    I can't wait for a version with a working camera....otherwise it runs great
     
  6. lastname_firstname

    lastname_firstname Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aww mannn, u guys got me all excited...

    "Did u say steak?!"
    "NO! MIS-TAKE!"
    -deuce bigalow
     
  7. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    "For the most up-to-date information / builds check my blog:http://hash-of-codes.blogspot.com"

    Unless Hashcode desides to stick with CM7 we are gonna lose support on it since he is the ONLY one working on a port for us. The reason I say this is because he is thinking about it... But for good reason, he is now trying to port ICS for the D3 which will take a lot longer (he already has it 'running' on the D3) to get to the same point CM7 is at right now and he says its up to his user base weather or not he keeps coding cm7. There is a poll somewhere on his site or maybe over at XDA to decide which you would rather see, ICS or CM7, go vote! =]

    [SELFKANG AOSP ROM] CyanogenMod 7.1 Alpha Release [UPDATE 11/16 PM] - xda-developers
     
  8. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Be aware that there are two versions Hashcode has compiled of CM7. One for his "Safe-strap" boot method and one for "Droid3BootStrap" which is used by Rom Manager.

    If you use Safe-strap then you need to download directly from Hashcode's site.....and make sure to grab the safe-strap version.

    If you use Rom Manager...well it requires Droid3BootStrap (either Koush's or Hashcode's modified version) and the proper version of CM7 is in Rom Manager for that recovery.
     
  9. Prsterero

    Prsterero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Third party cameras work though

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0


    What camera app are you using? I tried a few I purchased when I had the droid 1 but they didn't work either, so I figured the camera wasn't working at all...
     
  11. ItsTrentB

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +4
    Any 3rd party camera I've tried has worked.
    Camera Illusion
    Camera 360
    ProCapture
    Fast Burst Camera
    Silent Camera
    Etc.
    Try any of those and see if it works out for you. You also have to be on the latest build

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. Prsterero

    Prsterero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What he said lol. I used camera fx on the latest build. He beat me to it haha

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  13. ItsTrentB

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +4
    Haha

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  14. nutpn

    nutpn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont see it

    I dont see it in rom manager,can you upload it and post maybe a link,thanks
     
  15. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read before asking the same question.

     
Search tags for this page

cm7 droid 3

,
cm7 droid3
,

cm7 for droid 3

,
cm7 motorola droid 3
,
cm7 para droid 3
,
cm7 rom for droid 3
,
droid 3 cm7 download
,
droid 3 cm7 rom
,
droid 3 rom cm7
,
motorola droid 3 cm7