1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

CM7 RC2 on D1 Wireless Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by mascasa, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. mascasa
    Offline

    mascasa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rom was working pretty well for 4 days until last night. The wireless stopped working. It says my networks are out of range, and I cannot search for new wireless networks. It used to work just fine. Wireless Tether still works, so I know the hardware is good. I am running CM7 RC2 on a D1 with SetCPU.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. swallisa
    Offline

    swallisa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Try a different kernel one of chevy's GB kernels should do the trick.
  3. icomrade
    Offline

    icomrade New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't update busybox, I can't obtain an IP from any network with Busybox 1.18.3 and only some work with 1.17.1. Try reflashing the rom without wiping cache or data, that should fix it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. mascasa
    Offline

    mascasa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    New kernel fixed it. Thanks!
  5. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Next time this happens, just forget all the remembered networks and then wifi will scan and connect properly again.
  6. PetRiLJoe
    Offline

    PetRiLJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    First off in my situation I'm referring to Wi-Fi only, not just wireless in general, because that was the only thing that affected my phone.

    This has happened to me before when I tried out a new kernal. I could not scan for new networks and checking the checkbox to turn on WiFi would result in no change from the word "DISCONNECTED" so I would have said it's a kernal thing in my case. I have not had it happen seemingly randomly as the original poster.

    I have reflashed my older kernal to get WiFi working.

    @ mightybrick , thanks for the tip, I will have to try that next time it happens to me.