1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Cm7 Install Issue

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by Droid2xo, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. Droid2xo
    Offline

    Droid2xo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I SBF'd back to stock 2.3.2 . Then downloaded the GB OTA, rooted using Droid 3 root, downloaded the CM7 ROM and used Bootstrap recovery to install it after wiping/factory reset and dalivk. Rebooted it and it goes to the red M logo and shuts off and just repeats. What am I doing wrong?
  2. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    have you done a battery pull?

    also i think the cm7 rom should be a cm7 type looking boot up
  3. Droid2xo
    Offline

    Droid2xo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't have the GB CM7 I got if figured out lol.

    Sent from my CM7 DROID2 using DroidForums
  4. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    that was my thought. I was going to make sure you didn't DL from the CM website, because that's based on the Froyo kernel. Glad you figured it out!
  5. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    ha well at least you know what you did wrong,
    2 quick questions i am about to sbf my current phone, and receive my replacement today,

    what method do you use to sbf &
    what method do you use to root
  6. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Both can be found in my signature. Check out the links below

    |
    |
    v
  7. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    0wow thanks which file download , odexed or deodexed ,

    also these are basically the steps i think i should follow, please correect me if im wrong

    1.) install drivers and rsd program
    2.) run rsd program nd follow the steps in the first post

    well thats as far as i think i know that i should do?
  8. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Don't worry about odexed/deodexed just get the full SBF file, then:

    1) install drivers and rsd (there's a newer version of rsd in my signature too)
    2) get the phone into bootloader mode by powering it off completely, then hold the up key on the physical keyboard when powering on
    3) once in bootloader mode, connect to the pc and start rsd
    4) select the sbf file in rsd
    5) click start and wait for it to reboot

    it might not get to 100% before it reboots. I've had it get stuck at 99%, but that doesn't necessarily mean that something went wrong. When it boots:

    1) wait until the M shows, pull the battery
    2) put the battery back in and boot it up while holding the x key on the keyboard to get into stock recovery
    3) when you see the android with the ! press the search button on the keyboard (Pretty sure it's search for Froyo, if search doesn't work, press BOTH volume buttons simultaneously)
    4) once in recovery, select "wipe data/factory reset"
    5) reboot

    At this point you should be at a complete factory state. I did this all from memory, so some things may vary slightly, but all the necessary information should be here. If you need more help, feel free to stop back here in the forums, and feel free to PM me if needed.
  9. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    i cant find the full sbf file,? on MDW it doesnt load up, do you know where else i can get it,
  10. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I'm putting it in my dropbox right now. I'll post a link when it's done transferring.
  11. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    thanks, quick question i got my new droid 2, nd it had GB,
    so i used the droid life way to root it, but when it barely does it first step in the program (rebooting phone)

    it rebooots to im guessing the bootloader page
    nd it says

    d d2.37


    charge ok


    nd etc...

    how did this happen?

    i have to sbf am i correct?
  12. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    no, you don't need to sbf. Unplug the cord, reboot, and as it's booting back into GB plug the cord back in. The root process should finish without having to do anything. It should reboot 3 times total (I think)
  13. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    ok if i understand correctly. i run the program again, nd as soon as the reboot process begins... disconnect it, nd then connect back in after the droid boot screen shows up? nd the program will finish to root it?
  14. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
  15. John Gi
    Offline

    John Gi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    559
    everytime it booted it it ran into the bootloader, so i did what u said nd it worked!! now im rooted nd im gonna be running galnet till cm9 fixes the camera.

    but why does it happen tho?
  16. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    No idea why it happens. It never happened to me, but I read that it had happened to other people.

    Also, it would be nice if you took the time to write out one more character for "and" instead of "nd". It makes it easier to understand what you are trying to say.
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012