[ROM] **CM7 Build Thread**

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by winner00, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. mikemullin6

    mikemullin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    compcache working?

    Can you go into Terminal Emulator, su, compcache stats and see what it says? compcache in my settings also shows up but that doesn't seem to enable it

    Another way to check if it is actually working is to go into setcpu, info and scroll down and see what it says for swap activity.
     
  2. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't actually use compcache, but I just enabled it thru settings, set for 18%, but it returns an error code when I use compcache stats in terminal emulator. So while it does show up, it doesn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Compcache has not worked even in 6.1.2. DF member Prime has a fix for 6.1.2 as discussed in the very long compcache thread. While I cannot speak for Prime, he has mentioned continued support for the OC'ing on the newest CM 7. Likley he may do so once things finalize a bit more. He may be pursuaded to help with compcache, again once things settle some. Or maybe CVPCS will be able to roll Prime's fix for 6.1.2 into CM7.

    Perhaps some of you might know whether compcache is working in CVPCS's Gem series. If so then I would expect him to get it working in CM7, but I would also expect the priority to be lower than the base rom issues that he is most certainly working on. CVPCS went through all of these exact issues, lights, camcorder, accelerometer etc. when froyo was first ported, so I have high hopes for CM7.

    Craig
     
  4. givequicheachance

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you're right. However it's worth bearing in mind that official Froyo ROMs from Motorola started leaking that most of the custom ROMs ended up being based on. Motorola isn't going to write gingerbread drivers for the Droid for us this time, so it could be a lot more difficult.
     
  5. Malithorne

    Malithorne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So being an original Droid holder and lover of CM7/GB, what would you recommended? Patience or a roll back to CM6?
    On a side note, aside from the noted/known issues regarding menu button lights, accelerometer, and 3g drop, I have noticed several apps' widgets are not available to use. Removal and reinstall does not seem to help. PowerAMP is one such case. Any suggestions anyone? (D1/CM7#B11).

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can't tell you how important the accelerometer is to you, or how bad the 3g drop is to you.

    But, about the widgets, are their corresponding apps installed to the SDcard? Apps on SD cannot have widgets.

    Just fyi, I plan on sticking with CM7. It'll already usable, and they will work out the kinks. CVPCS is on board, it'll definitely get done.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1

    Give,

    of this I am painfully aware. I say painfully as I think you and I are in agreement that we will likely see no "official" GB love from the powers to be. I think the ace-in-the-hole, so to speak is that CVPCS has been (or at least in the beginning) working closely with Koush and the entire CM development group. While I do not completely understand the inner workings of the entire CM efforts across all phone platforms, me thinks this is our best hope at getting GB at this time. That is a pretty large resource pool.

    But then what do I know. For all I know, Moto/VZW/Google could push GB to the Milestone, then we will be golden:)

    Craig
     
  8. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I believe compcache works on sapphire. It provided slight differences in speed and would bog down after a while and need a reboot last time I used it. I'm happy running 1.1ghz without compcache
     
  9. Malithorne

    Malithorne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    UNC,
    Thanks. Accelerometer is no show stopper for now. I will wait patiently and hopeful while I bask in the GB glory. Good tip on the SD apps. I hadn't thought about that one. One problem fixed already.
    CM team rocks!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    This is a great point. While most of the OS was just brought in from AOSP and compiled, there were proprietary files in every leaked Froyo build from Moto that were used, and there was no other way to get them. If (and I suspect this is the case) there is to be no update to Gingerbread for the Droid, this could prove very problematic.
     
  11. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1

    Brandon,

    Your results seem to be consistent with some folks who have gone the compcache route in 6.1.2 with Prime's fix. I have been using it for a long time now with only the lowest 18% setting, and to be honest I cannot say for certain it helps. It certainly is not hurting, as my phone never becomes sluggish. Although I do tend to reboot every couple of days at least, and I do clean my cache periodically. I think perhaps some of the need for it, screen redraws etc. from the early days have been resolved at the ap level (Launcher pro, ADW etc.), I still like having the option. But, as I posted earlier, I would expect it to be a very low priority. My guess is the accelerometer is pretty high on the priority list right now:)

    Craig
     
  12. PikaCane

    PikaCane Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The other side of there
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running 8 at the moment, Swype refused to install back on 3 and I haven't tried since. Thankfully the Gingerbread keyboard is much friendlier! I have had a lot more lag and more redraws the last couple of builds, and the home button is very temperamental, although that seems to have improved slightly. The home screen lag is killing me, though. I have taken off all my widgets and I'm down to half a single page of shortcuts, and I still have five or ten seconds' lag almost every time. Did a full wipe for this one and going to try it again.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

allow purging of assets

,
cm7 language pack
,
cm7 mms download unsuccessful
,

cm7 pacman.apk

,
cm7 pakman.apk
,
cyanogenmod pacman apk
,
cyanogenmod pacman.apk
,
galaxy dx 393 set up
,

pacman.apk cyanogenmod

,
what is pacman.apk cm7