[ROM] **CM7 Build Thread**

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by winner00, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. dredhead407
    Offline

    dredhead407 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody notice any changes in build 11?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. givequicheachance
    Offline

    givequicheachance Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still looks great, but still waiting for accelerometer and light sensor before I will use it regularly.
     
  3. mikemullin6
    Offline

    mikemullin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    build 11 & compcache

    Build 11 appears to be 2.3.2

    In Settings, there is an option for compcache but it isn't active. Seems to be missing several files (rzcontrol, swapon, etc.)

    I know P3 and slayer kernels for Froyo are compcache enabled but is there a way to enable compcache in CM7?
     
  4. dredhead407
    Offline

    dredhead407 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So that would mean that this has the sms fix that was made for the nexus s?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1

    From what I understand, yes this is the SmS fix.
    And, I have compcache in my settings, and its not greyed out.. just use the stock kernel.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0

    but is it WORKING? if you use set cpu go into that, then info, then scroll down to see if any values are in swapcached swaptotal and swap free
    or to into terminal and type
    su (enter)
    free(enter)
    if any values appear in the categories from set cpu then its working
    if any values appear in the swap row using the terminal check, its working

    I would guess that it is not working yet, as compcache and cm havent been playing nice without making some changes
     
  7. mikemullin6
    Offline

    mikemullin6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    compcache working?

    Can you go into Terminal Emulator, su, compcache stats and see what it says? compcache in my settings also shows up but that doesn't seem to enable it

    Another way to check if it is actually working is to go into setcpu, info and scroll down and see what it says for swap activity.
     
  8. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't actually use compcache, but I just enabled it thru settings, set for 18%, but it returns an error code when I use compcache stats in terminal emulator. So while it does show up, it doesn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Compcache has not worked even in 6.1.2. DF member Prime has a fix for 6.1.2 as discussed in the very long compcache thread. While I cannot speak for Prime, he has mentioned continued support for the OC'ing on the newest CM 7. Likley he may do so once things finalize a bit more. He may be pursuaded to help with compcache, again once things settle some. Or maybe CVPCS will be able to roll Prime's fix for 6.1.2 into CM7.

    Perhaps some of you might know whether compcache is working in CVPCS's Gem series. If so then I would expect him to get it working in CM7, but I would also expect the priority to be lower than the base rom issues that he is most certainly working on. CVPCS went through all of these exact issues, lights, camcorder, accelerometer etc. when froyo was first ported, so I have high hopes for CM7.

    Craig
     
  10. givequicheachance
    Offline

    givequicheachance Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you're right. However it's worth bearing in mind that official Froyo ROMs from Motorola started leaking that most of the custom ROMs ended up being based on. Motorola isn't going to write gingerbread drivers for the Droid for us this time, so it could be a lot more difficult.
     
  11. Malithorne
    Offline

    Malithorne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So being an original Droid holder and lover of CM7/GB, what would you recommended? Patience or a roll back to CM6?
    On a side note, aside from the noted/known issues regarding menu button lights, accelerometer, and 3g drop, I have noticed several apps' widgets are not available to use. Removal and reinstall does not seem to help. PowerAMP is one such case. Any suggestions anyone? (D1/CM7#B11).

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I can't tell you how important the accelerometer is to you, or how bad the 3g drop is to you.

    But, about the widgets, are their corresponding apps installed to the SDcard? Apps on SD cannot have widgets.

    Just fyi, I plan on sticking with CM7. It'll already usable, and they will work out the kinks. CVPCS is on board, it'll definitely get done.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  13. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1

    Give,

    of this I am painfully aware. I say painfully as I think you and I are in agreement that we will likely see no "official" GB love from the powers to be. I think the ace-in-the-hole, so to speak is that CVPCS has been (or at least in the beginning) working closely with Koush and the entire CM development group. While I do not completely understand the inner workings of the entire CM efforts across all phone platforms, me thinks this is our best hope at getting GB at this time. That is a pretty large resource pool.

    But then what do I know. For all I know, Moto/VZW/Google could push GB to the Milestone, then we will be golden:)

    Craig
     
  14. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I believe compcache works on sapphire. It provided slight differences in speed and would bog down after a while and need a reboot last time I used it. I'm happy running 1.1ghz without compcache
     
  15. Malithorne
    Offline

    Malithorne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    UNC,
    Thanks. Accelerometer is no show stopper for now. I will wait patiently and hopeful while I bask in the GB glory. Good tip on the SD apps. I hadn't thought about that one. One problem fixed already.
    CM team rocks!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
allow purging of assets
,
cm7 language pack
,
cm7 mms download unsuccessful
,
cm7 pacman.apk
,
cyanogenmod pacman.apk
,
galaxy dx 393 set up
,

pacman.apk cm7

,
pacman.apk cyanogenmod
,
what is allow purging of assets cm7
,
what is pacman.apk cm7