[ROM] **CM7 Build Thread**

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by winner00, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. gambit07

    gambit07 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    on reprimed or deprimed?
     
  2. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    bumblebee...i need to get to reading. i hope we get a fix soon cuz that **** bugs me constantly!
     
  3. zachdroid

    zachdroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Any idea if there is progress towards camera recording on anything but high/YouTube? I'd like the option of mms or or low to work so I can send vids to family w/o emailing them all the time

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Artimis

    Artimis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone else that has tried this started seeing strange files appearing in the root of their SD card with titles similar to " read_ahead_kb-1810433330" ?
     
  5. litso

    litso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't tried it, but this appears to be a cache file that is created in order to perform the speed upgrade. How many are showing up at once, what size are they, and what size did you change your cache to?
     
  6. jengas kahn

    jengas kahn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate
    Ratings:
    +1
    figured i'd try using maps/navigation yesterday just for kicks, to see if it would work, for a change. still a no go. immediate force closes as soon as i tap the navigation icon. with that said...

    i always wipe all every time i switch roms, including dalvik-cache.
    be sure i have the latest maps.
    deleted app data through manage applications settings
    fix_permissions
    i've tried installing to /system
    tried a bunch of different kernels
    more cache and dalvik-cache wiping.

    the only other thing i could think of is installing a froyo build of cm, installing maps and then installing cm7 over it, no wipe. or maybe i could wipe everything except dalvik-cache.

    i have no idea what else to do. this is the only problem i have with this rom, and unfortunately it's a big one.
     
  7. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61

    Are you using any of the memory management options that have been talked about in other threads? Specifically Auto Memory Manager. If not, that could be your answer. Gingerbread is most likely killing your nav automatically...

    Edit: When you say it force closes, do you actually get the message, or does the nav just shut down?
     
    #3607 sbenson, Mar 31, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  8. Artimis

    Artimis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Changed cache to 3072. Currently, there are two files and both are 5 bytes in size. They appear to be text files that simply have "3072" inside (surprise surprise).

    Just reminds of the 2.0.1 - 2.1 days where the SD card would get littered with those "DiskCacheIndex...." files.
     
  9. jengas kahn

    jengas kahn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate
    Ratings:
    +1
    as soon as i touch the navigation button, or if i say "navigate to blahblahblah..." in voice search, there pops up a force close message. doesn't open up at all.

    i could try the memory manager but i already have a 99complete file in the etc/init.d folder for setting the task killer's parameters.

    it's just weird because it works on some other gb roms. but not one single time ever on any cm7 build. it really sucks because it's my favorite rom, but navigation is pretty necessary. it sucks to be lost, driving somewhere in the city and have to flash a nandroid of some froyo build. it probably isn't the safest thing either.
     
  10. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Seems like you dont have Speech synthesizer installed maybe?
    See if that is the case. If not do this: Managed apps/gmaps/clear data.
    Then uninstall maps.
    Reboot your phone and the go and re download Gmaps.
    This has worked for me in the past. With Gmail, not with Maps but see if it works.
     
  11. jengas kahn

    jengas kahn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate
    Ratings:
    +1
    duuuuuuuuude. that was it, i always delete the two tts apps. so i left them alone this time on a fresh install, and it's working fine. i can't believe i missed that. actually, yes i can. thank you so much!

    except i'm not sure why i'm being prompted to install this speech synthesizer thing, when it would seem as though all navigation needed were the two tts apks. i don't remember ever seeing this program before. good thing i never use voiced guidance.

    dancedroid once again, thank you guys so so so much for the help dancedroid
     
  12. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    No problem, glad it got you your Navi back.

    This may be a bug as far as the Voice synth installation prompt is conerned, not sure if CM team has this on file, but lets see if it is a trend and not just coincidence.
     
    #3612 illmatic636, Mar 31, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
Search tags for this page

allow purging of assets

,
cm7 language pack
,
cm7 mms download unsuccessful
,

cm7 pacman.apk

,
cm7 pakman.apk
,
cyanogenmod pacman apk
,
cyanogenmod pacman.apk
,
galaxy dx 393 set up
,

pacman.apk cyanogenmod

,
what is pacman.apk cm7