1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

CM7 Boot Loop

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2G' started by bmudrak, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. bmudrak
    Offline

    bmudrak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried installing CM7 GB on my droid 2 running stock verizon froyo. My phone was rooted with z4root and had clockwork installed. I created a backup. I then downloaded CM7 GB through ROM Manager, proceeded through the install, but when the phone rebooted I'm stuck with a replay loop of the CM7 animation.

    Booting into recover (pwr + up arrow) lands me in the stock recovery screen, not clockwork mod, so I don't see the option to restore a backup.

    Please help.
  2. droidx2.3.3
    Offline

    droidx2.3.3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong but for cm7gb you need to be on rooted .602. That's what I needed to do for my dx.
  3. mopar57
    Offline

    mopar57 Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    droidx2.3.3 your right except for the version number. You need to be on either 4.5.606 ( two part file to root) 4.5.607 (use Droid3 v7 root method)

    After you have upgraded to GB you can then perform the steps to install it.

    if you have adb install you can do:
    adb shell "echo 1 > /data/.recovery_mode; sync;"
    adb reboot
    to get into CWM
    ( thanks to rev numbers)
  4. bmudrak
    Offline

    bmudrak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I dont know what version i was on and obviosly cant tell now. Any thoughts on what to do now to either continue or launch clockwork for a restore to my backup?
  5. Mistah
    Offline

    Mistah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    had this happen to me also, had to sbf back to original and start over
  6. bmudrak
    Offline

    bmudrak New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did a wipe of user data and was able to successfully launch CM7.

    The one remaining question I had was why I'm unable to boot directly into CWM with the key combination (x + PWR)? This boots into the stock recovery mode, without the option for restoring. The only way I can get into CWM is through Bootstrap Recovery, however this isn't (and wasn't) an option when my phone was stuck in the boot loop.
  7. usher6360
    Offline

    usher6360 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remember, every time you flash a Rom, you must do a factory reset, wipe cache, and wipe dalvic cache.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
  8. Steltron
    Offline

    Steltron New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, the exact same thing is happening to me. How do you get into clockwork? how do i restore my old ROM?
  9. Jonas
    Offline

    Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    The fact that you booted into CWR is actually a fluke, it should have booted you into stock recovery. I have found that if you boot loop it, and don't fool with anything else, then you can do a factory reset, and wipe cache, and it lets you work from there. If that doesn't work, SBF is a good bet!
  10. mopar57
    Offline

    mopar57 Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    install androidsdk

    adb shell "echo 1 > /data/.recovery_mode; sync;"
    adb reboot

    boots back into cwm

    to use new cm7, make sure you have GB kernel---( moto logo is in red when booting)
Search tags for this page
boot loop cyanogenmod 7
,
cm 7 boot loop
,
cm7 boot
,

cm7 boot loop

,

cm7 bootloop

,
cm7 motorola droid bootloop
,
cm7 restart loop
,
cm7 stuck on boot animation on motorola bravo
,
cm7.2 bootloop
,
cyanogen logo loop
,
cyanogenmod 7 boot loop
,
cyanogenmod restart
,
droid 2 cm7 bootloop
,
droid2 stuck in bootloop running cyngenmod7
,
getting out of cm7 boot loop