Cm6 vs CM7

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by baldybill, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. baldybill

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, I'm sure it's been asked before, but I am not easily finding it..

    If I went back to a froyo rom, like cm6,
    Would it be more stable?
    What major features would I lose?

    Sent from my OG Droid
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,106
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,405
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    It would be more stable. I can't remember all the features added between the two but i'm sure some would be lost. But if stability is the overriding factor then the lost features aren't too much.

    LLR0717
     
  3. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Anything froyo should be more stable for the D1 since that was intended for it. And I am in the same boat as jstaff on this one and not remembering what was added for cm7. However, I am fairly certain that much of the lockscreen tweaks will not be present in cm6, such as custom shortcuts.
     
  4. baldybill

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Stability is a factor, but so is features. If I just wanted stable, I'd go back to stock.

    Anyone else know of major features I would lose?
    Is cm6 still available?

    Sent from my OG Droid
     
  5. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Well as I said the lockscreen customization will be limited. And I do not know if you use it or not but the theme changer will definitely not be there, that is for CM7 and some other GB ROMs.

    And as far as where you can get it I am not sure, that would probably take some looking around.
     
  6. baldybill

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok. Now that I've used Pete's for a while, the theme chooser and lockscreen tweaks don't matter. If it's just visual stuff like that, I'm fine.

    Anyone else think of major changes?
    Anyone else know where I might find cm6?

    Sent from my OG Droid
     
  7. mightybrick

    mightybrick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Ratings:
    +6
    I believe notification power widget was added in CM7. I really use that alot, so I don't know if I could drop back to CM6.
     
  8. baldybill

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I used to use that notification power widget too. Now I use widgetoid on anticipation of the fact that the razr and gnex don't have it.

    Anyone know where I can get cm6 from?

    Sent from my OG Droid
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
  10. baldybill

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ah, thanks. I assumed that it would only have CM7

    Sent from my OG Droid
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    No problem!! And I was surprised too, I just clicked on "stable" for the heck of it.

    Thinking about flashing it on my spare phone just for kicks.
     
  12. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am running 6.1.2 on my D1 and using it as a SIP phone for my home number. It is the most stable ROM I have run on the D1. And it does have power widgets, so no you do not need CM7 to get the widgets.
     
Search tags for this page
cm 6 vs 7
,
cm 6 vs cm 7
,

cm6 vs cm7

,
cm7.2 setting for battery life
,
cyaogen mod 6 vs cm7
,
droid bionic cm6
,
how change cm6 to cm7 android
,
milestone cm6 vs cm7