CM4DX-GB flash question

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - X' started by mouthrulez, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am about to flash CM4DX-GB Revnumbers from ROM toolbox..can i just flash it straight over the stock droid ROM or do i have to switch to GB first?
     
  2. clueless77

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    if you are still on froyo (2.2.x) then yes you will have to get on ginger bread first
     
  3. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can i download GB from ROM toolbox or ROM manager premium?
     
  4. clueless77

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    no its not like a custom rom ginger bread is the 2.3 version of the androi

    easiest way to get there is to sbf full to 4.5.602 which you can get here Droid X SBF
    if you arent familiar with sbf'ing you can read up on it here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-x-rooted-help/100038-complete-droid-x-sbf-flashing-guide.html please read the whole thing first

    if this makes you uncomfortable DO NOT attempt

    i am sure the other guy posting in here, Leftspin, will chime in soon and knows a fair bit more than i and i am sure between the two of us we can get you where you want to be
     
  5. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive had CM7 on my DX before but left it because of battery life. but now i want to try it again but on GB kernel this time. I have a few question about it tho. Does camera and Camcorder work yet? does youtube work yet? and do i still get my HD recording and pics that the stock ROM has?
     
  6. clueless77

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    i am assuming you are running a 2nd init rom

    honestly as far as i know the camera does work as far as camcorder i dont know i dont use my cam like that and i have only flashed the cm7 roms for a little bit at a time i prefer others

    there are other threads about the builds here that you could read up on, its mostly just trial and error
     
  7. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya i used to have a 2nd init rom. if i dont like this ROM after i flash it can i just hit one of my stock rom backups and will it take me back to my stock rom with no problems?
     
  8. clueless77

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    well if you get to the ginger bread os you will want to go ahead and amke a back up of that, stock rooted of course, but yes if you get tpo the new gb cm7 and dont like it just wipe factory data, cache, and dalvik cache and restore back up

    please be careful though and trust me i have bricked mine about a gazillion times
     
  9. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh ok. once im on GB what do i have to do before flashing CM4DX-GB? Wipe cache, dalvik cache, and do i have to wipe data as well?
     
  10. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    and do i still need to instal the all-in-one fix? if so link please
     
  11. clueless77

    clueless77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +7
    go into your about phone in the settings menu and tell me what these two things say

    system version
    android version

    then i think i can get you on the right track
     
  12. mouthrulez

    mouthrulez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    system version- version.2.3.340.MB810.Verizon.en.US
    android version- 2.2.1

    and thanks for the help, sorry bout all these questions, i took a 3 month break from ROMS so i pretty much forgot everything
     
Search tags for this page

cm4dx gb install

,

flash for android cm4dx

,

how to download cm4dx gb rom