1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

CM10/Droid3

Discussion in 'Hashcode D3' started by sholmes, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. sholmes
    Offline

    sholmes New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    First, hashcode has rombot.org back online. Droid3 images are here:

    Directory index · styled with h5ai

    I installed KEXEC-cm-10-20121001-UNOFFICIAL-solana.zip on my D3. As with CM9, camera didn't work. 3G and WiFi seemed to work fine but I didn't do a whole lot before reverting to CM9.

    The big problem I ran into involved restoring my apps. Here's what I did:

    1. Ran a full backup. Saved it to ext-sd
    2. Created update.zip
    3. Booted to Safestrap 2.10.
    4. Wiped data/factory reset and wiped cache partition
    5. Installed KEXEC-cm-10-20121001-UNOFFICIAL-solana.zip
    6. Installed gapps-jb-20120726-signed.zip
    7. Installed update.zip
    8. Rebooted

    Upon reboot, CM10 started fine but unlike past ROM loads, I didn't have Titanium loaded. Went back into Safestrap and installed update.zip again. This time Titanium was there but unlike past ROM loads, it didn't have any information about my past backups, device ID, labels, etc. Once repointing Titanium to sd-ext it at least saw my old backups but nothing else complicating restore. And restore didn't do nearly as good a job as it had in the past.

    Wondering if I missed a step or if I might be better off doing the backups to the built in SD. Or maybe I should have installed it a third time.

    Any ideas out there?
  2. sholmes
    Offline

    sholmes New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Answered my own question. Secret was to not wipe the cache partition.
  3. Hashcode
    Offline

    Hashcode Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm curious: why the update.zip? Is there some change you're needing after install?
  4. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    When I read it, I took it to mean he was creating an update.zip with TiBu so after flashing the new ROM, he could just flash that TiBu update.zip to restore his programs and what-not, rather than restoring them individually.
  5. sholmes
    Offline

    sholmes New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    That would be correct. I'm using update.zip to restore my backuped up apps (and some system settings) without having to restore each individually.

    I have had some success with upgrading to a newer ROM from an older without defaulting the device first. But it does seem cleaner to default first.
  6. will17721
    Offline

    will17721 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Newark, Ohio
    for some odd reason i had problems installing it. it said it installed and everything but it wouldnt boot up. i tried 3 different ways and it still didnt boot up. someone help?
  7. sholmes
    Offline

    sholmes New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Had that problem with the latest kexec-cm9 release. I'm just going to wait for SS3 and whatever releases come after that.
  8. will17721
    Offline

    will17721 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Newark, Ohio
    never mind i had to not format system and not wipe dalvik
Search tags for this page
camera cm10 solana
,
cm 10 for droid 3
,
cm 10 solana
,

cm10 droid 3

,
cm10 droid3
,
cm10 for droid 3
,
cm10 on droid 3
,
cm10 rom droid 3
,
cm10 solana
,
droid 3 cm camera fix
,

droid 3 cm10

,
droid3
,
droid3 cm10
,
motorola droid 3 cm10
,
rom solana