CM 6.1Final Kernels?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by jerroedr, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    where are the jdlfg kernels at?

    also, p3 makes sapphire kernels and p3droid kernels. is there a difference? is one better than the other?
  2. DanDroidX
    Offline

    DanDroidX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running a Sapphire kernel, 125-1.1 GHz standard voltage and it runs great. Making 1400-16xx quadrants with compcache enabled. I have to have my compcache and P3 kernels run too hot for me.
  3. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    You know I havn't tried Sapphire kernels on CM yet. I ran Sapphire ROM with it's kernels for a while and it ran good.

    I'm using LFY Slayher 1.1 GHz kernel right now with good results. Might just have to give Sapphire kernels a run...
  4. ChickenGod
    Offline

    ChickenGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I switched from LFY to CM6.1 and I tried P3 but it wouldn't charge the battery and now I'm using Slayher LV 1.1ghz and it's working fine!
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    P3 LV 125-1200, no problems, but no compcache. Haven't been able to get it to work with any busybox or kernel since 204.
  6. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got chevy's newest 1.1 ghz and by far it has been running the coolest.

    why are they making it so hard to get compcache to work these days?
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Using that script, terminal commands from my last post, and a P3Droid kernel AND RAMZSWAP module, all works. Chevy can't get compcache to work on any of his kernels, so if you're running Chevy you're not getting compcache till he can fix it, and he's doing X stuff now.
  8. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    im over compcache. its cool and all but a good kernel installed and i cant tell a difference. plus, if cm wants compcache to work they should make it easier to get it going. not that its hard, but it isnt easy
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I like the 30 extra megabytes I get of RAM. :)
  10. Glueeater
    Offline

    Glueeater Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not seeing any huge reason to not use stock kernel :shrug:
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    LV kernels will use less battery at the same speed if your phone can run them, and if you use one like P3Droid you can still have compcache if you so desire. ULV from Chevy should use even LESS juice.
  12. Blackwater
    Offline

    Blackwater New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to know what cpu temps you guys are getting while your using the phone? I am at 120 -130 ave.with gps turned off running Chevy#1 LV 1.1
    I'm not a expert, but I think that is kinda high. I have tried several other kernels with pretty much the same results.
    slayher 1.1lv v1.6
    p3droid 1000 standard voltage
    LFY 1000 slv
    chevy#1 1.2 med v This one was hot 130-140+

    I am not sure what temps are safe to run at. Haven't a problem with the battery temp.
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Average? What are your SetCPU profiles? What governor are you running? Are you tethering? WiFi or 3g?

    As much information as you can provide (including air temperatures where you are using the Droid) that might be pertinent would be useful.
  14. Blackwater
    Offline

    Blackwater New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really doing anything strenuous. Using the web browser, maybe a down load, playing a video.
    I can open the web browser and be at 120* in less than 1 min and at 130* in 3 min at 140* in 5 min.
    When I reboot the phone the temp is over 140* 5 out of 10 times.
    That is using wifi. gps disabled. Not tethered, and at 73*-74* room temp.
    these are pics of my profiles. every thing is set to on demand
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  15. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Your full profile is to blame for part of it. Performance locks it in at 1100MHz.
Search tags for this page

best kernel for cyanogenmod 6.1

,

deprimed kernel cm 6.1