closing multiple windows all at once

Discussion in 'Motorola DROID Turbo 2' started by roach, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. roach

    roach Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So. Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a way to close five windows at once,now I have been closing them one by one,I was hoping the update would of corrected that.
    Thank's
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I assume you mean close all open / running apps at once? No way that I know of on a Droid phone, you have to close them one at a time. It is a pretty quick swipe to close though.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  3. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +555
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 7
    That's a moto thing. My Samsung has a close all option. Nothing I can think of to change that aside from root or a rom. Maybe a different launcher but I doubt it.

    Sent from my Note 4
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. roach

    roach Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So. Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    well that sucks one at a time is no big deal but you would of thought it would of been in the upgrade.
    Thanks guys
     
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I think the older Droids had a Close All option, but could be mistaken? Since Moto has gone more vanilla Android since 2013, it's just not part of Moto's Android. Maybe stock Android doesn't have that option either? Like GoCliffGo05 posted, it is a Samsung option, my Sammy work phone has it.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  6. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +130
    I believe that with the older phones, turning the phones off and back on, restarts, and cache partition clears, cleared the recent app cards. With my Moto phones I don't ever remember a clear all button.

    Sent from my Moto Droid Turbo 2 using Tapatalk.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,267
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,835
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Here's the thing...for all the talk of "Multitasking"... Android still, really and truly, does not do TRUE multitasking. Those recent snapshots are pretty much that: just snapshots. They are not 'running in the background'.

    Example: Open Chrome. Navigate to a page. Switch to something else. Switch to something else. Pull up recents. Go back to Chrome. Notice how the page actually RELOADS. EVERY time.

    Yes, you can synch to Dropbox listen to music and surf the web. But 90% of those RECENT apps, if not more, are not actually RUNNING. This is not unique to Android. iPhones are almost exactly the same. The difference:
    Apple even publicly admitted it. Closing those does NOT speed up your phone. If you think it does...placebo. ;)

    Closing all of your apps doesn't actually save your iPhone's battery
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,485
    Likes Received:
    7,064
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,406
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Yup. They go into a "suspended" state so they're faster to reload if/when you go back to them. Closing them down in the recents menu actually makes it take more resources to completely reload the app instead of just bringing it back from suspended state (and in Chrome's case, refreshing the page to ensure that you've got the most recent version loaded).
     
  9. roach

    roach Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So. Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes the older droids did have that option and to bad they took it out,there will be times i forget and i could have 25 open windows.
     
  10. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,267
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,835
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    And as we just explained, it really has no effect on your device. That's why Google dumped it.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Rebooting always clears them quickly for me.
     
  12. roach

    roach Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So. Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    ok i got it thanks
     
Search tags for this page

closing multiple windows in android

,

how close multiple windows motorola droid