Close browser ?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by sownman, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. sownman

    sownman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my X today first impression is real good, quite intuative. First stupid question though. I open browser run around the web then go back home using the home button. When I hit browser icon next its still sitting where I left it. How do you close it ? or do you ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,299
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Welcome! The browser saves you last session for you. Going home is all you need to do. If you'd like to see your homepage the next time you open the browser, press menu, then windows. Then, clost any open windows. It will then load your homepage.

    Emitted from X.
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    dolphin browser HD allows use of the back key to close it and clear cache. convenient if you ask me :)
     
  4. sownman

    sownman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, this is a terrific tool, calling it a phone is an insult
     
  5. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    since the 2.2 update, i can't close open windows in the browser, so if i have multiple windows open, i have to restart the phone to get them closed. i can't figure out why they would not have a way to exit, because then you have a possible resource hog running on a device with limited cpu power/ram, with no way, save a reboot, to kill it, or install a third party app to manage what should be a stock browser option
     
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,299
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    It works exactly the same except there's a - instead of a x in the right. Click the - to close a that window.

    Emitted from X.
     
  7. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope, it does not. it just opens that window.
     
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,299
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Do you have more than one window open? Not to be rude, but I've done this several times since I updated earlier today and literally JUST did it before I came back to respond.

    Emitted from X.
     
  9. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just had 5 open, and each time i hit the minus sign, that window popped up,so again, i had to reboot the phone. sucks.
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,299
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    That's odd. This is the stock browser right? Are you having any other issues since the update? I know when 2.1 came out for the d1, people experienced some issues that were solved by a factory reset.

    Emitted from X.
     
  11. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's stock, but then again, i may need to do a reset. the minus sign is not "lit" like the previous plus sign used to be, so i guess when i hit only the sign, the entire window choice area is highlighted...
     
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,299
    Likes Received:
    2,168
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Hmm...my minus sign is grey white with a grey circle around it, but I can definitely press that to close or the name of the website to go to that window...

    Emitted from X.
     
  13. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, after checking around a bit in the menus, under settings and applications, i noticed something i hadn't seen previously...a header menu mentioning running apps (not processes), and i just closed the browser from there. simple, but i still can't get the minus sign to trigger anything but making it's particular page come back up...too lazy to do a reset atm. maybe tomorrow. thank you for taking the time :)
     
Search tags for this page
can't close windows in stock droidx browser
,
close a window on new motorola phone
,
close multiple windows internet browser on samsung 4phone
,
how do i close windows on droid x
,

how do you close open windows on your droid

,
how to close extra windows on droid internet
,
how to close windows on a motorola droid 2
,
i can't close out browsers in the s4
,

i cant exit ibternet articleson droid dna

,
unable to close internrt s4 pjone