clockworkmod REPLACED my sprecovery? God, help.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Xenoroyal, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. Xenoroyal
    Offline

    Xenoroyal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rooted and was updating to froyo on my Motorola Droid, having first made backups with Sprrecovery

    Long story short I flashed clockwork recovery onto my phone before I was done w rom manager, now even with uninstalling rom manage and hard deleting the clockwork file from phone while mounted... when it boots into recovery it still uses clockwork mod!

    And it dosent see my old sprecoveries. Can someone please tell me how to get rid of it?
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly what I encountered. And the reason I stay far away from Clockwork and ROM Manager.

    Only fix I found.... .sbf flash. A total wipe of your phone.

    However, if you look in the rescue squad section of the forums.... They do have instructions on how to manually push SPRecovery back onto your phone.
    That would be my suggestion to you. The RS can work wonders here on DF :)
  3. CKyle22
    Offline

    CKyle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    An easier fix, install ROM Manager, scroll down, press "Flash Alternate Recovery", then uninstall ROM Manager.
  4. Xenoroyal
    Offline

    Xenoroyal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, that option is greyed out. Ty for responses guys I really appricate!

    I'm freaking out. I currently have a rooted fone with NO recovery, im on the outskirts of Brick City. IM ON THE BORDER OF BRICK TOWN.

    4235 EAST BRICK BOULEVARD
    edit: BBBBRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIICCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    I can't believe I fudged up, I read for two days.
    Hey I'm calm now, I was wondering what .sbf flashing is? I just want to fresh restart back to stock and start over so i can remake my recoveries and feel safe again.
  5. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    743
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    .sbf will bring you back to stock so you can start with a clean slate.....

    Sent from my Droid
  6. Xenoroyal
    Offline

    Xenoroyal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well i flashed clockwork back, then flash previous backup was available. So rebooted into Sppreecovery, but now my recoveries are gone :(

    which means if It screws up im bricked cus I cant go back to unroot
  7. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    It's probably grayed out because you have the free version of rom manager? bite the bullet and get the premium version and all is well, you can flash back and forth between recoveries at will......
  8. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Have you looked in the nandroid folder on your sd card? That is where recoveries from SP are stored. The only reason they would be gone is if you deleted them.
  9. Xenoroyal
    Offline

    Xenoroyal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i tried again because i noticed trend with people saying retrying stuff and then it works

    it works

    thanks guys, you saved me
  10. g8gt2012
    Offline

    g8gt2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly. I ran into this when I first decided to run ROM Manager. No SPRecovery backups or anything. I bought the Premium and was able to Flash back to SPR. I now use Clockwork for everything. It is by far the easiest way to go and well worth the money. And even if there isn't a ROM in ROM Manager (most are I believe) just flash SPR and your good to go all over again. But even if you don't want to buy it, just .sbf and you'll be OK. Your SPR backups should still be there, they just wont work with Clockwork.
  11. g8gt2012
    Offline

    g8gt2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Looks like I type to slow haha. Congratulations on getting your phone back in working order.
  12. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I found this out over the weekend too, but I did notice the option in ROM Manager to flash back to sprecovery. And I agree that rom manger is BY FAR the quickest option to flash between roms.
  13. Luxferro
    Offline

    Luxferro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    using a .sbf file cause you have no recovery is pretty dumb way to go about fixing it. Not sure why people are recommending that way to you. .sbf should only be used as last resort, cause if something happens during flashing a .sbf, your phone will be bricked permanently.

    if you have root, just flash a recovery over via adb.
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,806
    Likes Received:
    1,239
    Trophy Points:
    113
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I'm with Martin, I'd stay as far away from ROM Manager as possible. I just see way to many people having issues with it.
  16. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    99% is user error. people start pushing buttons not knowing how it works and then they have problems.

    Everyone of us that loves rom manager probably borked our phone learning rom manager and clockwork recovery. It's a superior system if used correctly.

    As for the sbf files, which someone else mentioned: every sbf file I have used has some sort of recovery, whether it be stock or otherwise.... Who would package that file without a recovery? Sbf isn't any more deadly than a custom rom.... As long as you pay attention to what you are doing, you should be fine.

    Nonsense and propaganda, before we know it someone will think the phone can carry a cold and pass that info along as truth.... Then half the forum will think the same, all because they read it on the internet.
  17. wsbsteven
    Offline

    wsbsteven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    youtube.com/wimervision
    +1 to Nerdbox08
  18. ewells2420
    Offline

    ewells2420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know when I first used rom manager/clockwork to flash a rom I forgot to select install google apps too. I was having a hell of a time figuring that one out. Finally fixed it though.
  19. FDFTW!!
    Offline

    FDFTW!! New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    FWIW, I've used ROM manager extensively. I never bought the Premium version and was able to flash between Clockwork Mod and SPRecovery time and time and time again. Never once did my backups "disappear" or ever become unavailable in any way. Sounds like operator error to me, no offense.
  20. BRUINSdroidBOSTON
    Offline

    BRUINSdroidBOSTON New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its greyed out because you dont have the sprecovery file on the root of your sd card