ClockWorkMod onto unactivated Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Mbk, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    OK, so I got a spare Droid as a backup for mine and my kids Droids, and also to test out my Metamorphs and Update.Zips.... I have it rooted and got ROM Manager installed, however I am not able to flash to ClockWorkMod since I have no data connection...and trying to use a SPRecovery nandroid on the sdcard doesn't seem to work... So how are you guys flashing to ClockWorkMod if no data connection?
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    Turn on wifi......

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  3. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    HaHaHaHa....great friggin idea... thanks I'll try it. I did just manage to get a clockworkmod image onto my spare Droid, but don't care for SPRecovery, but still couldn't flash to ClockWork... but thanks to your suggestion, I will be able to now... Cheers;)
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    I was just implying ROM manager should work for you with a wifi signal instead of data. I have used it with just wifi at home because my 3g is spotty at home.

    I wish I knew the terminal commands to flash the image but haven't used them in so long.....

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  5. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wifi worked like a charm bro... now my spare Droid is 'exactly' identical to my usage one... spittin' image...lol
    Thanks for the idea, it flashed to ClockWorkMod pefectly..;)
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    Good deal

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  7. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    funny how simple **** like that makes smart phones such a breeze :p
     
  8. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    LMAO thats awesome, sorry, read the posts and it made me giggle a little bit =]
     
  9. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    All in all this is turning out great (have a sh*tload of nandroids from Clockwork, so it's just easier to flash with ClockWorkMod recovery))...and I hadn't thought that far ahead to use wifi so that my spare would have internet access... but yeah, such a simple idea but so, so sweet!!... ;)
     
  10. FranklinWalker

    FranklinWalker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh get the wifi work
     
Search tags for this page

unactivated droid x

,

using internet on un-activated android phone