ClockworkMod and data wipe

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Cool Cake, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be useless to do a factory wipe than restore a nandroid backup?

    Will the restore bring back all the extraneous crap like cache and other stuff?

    Or will the Cache wipe do the same thing with less steps?

    Yes, I am new and having great fun!dancedroid

    Thanks you guys have been so helpful. :)
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hope this is helpful
     
  3. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is very helpful, thank you.

    The phone isn't laggy now bc I just flashed CM6.1 and put a custom kernal to it and it is awesome :) but I wanted a good maintenance strategy to keep it that way.
    The only reason that I associate speed with wiping the phone is that I did a factory wipe when it was stock and was shocked at how zippy it was. It was like getting a new phone. Now with the Mod, it is amazing and I love my droid now. I don't feel nearly as pressured to get a new phone yet.

    Also, since the D1 has such limited internal storage, do you find an optimal percentage of internal storage to keep free that will keep the phone fast?
    I much more picky on what resides on the phone nowadays and I use TiBU to move user apps (where appropriate) on the SD card.

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I copy my SD to my computer on a regular basis. That provides a backup and an uncluttered SD card.

    Mike
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Clear your Dalvik once a week. The difference is amazing.
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Will a cache cleaner from the Market clear or do you need to use Root Explorer?
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I use terminal. I don't know if cache cleaner is 100% compatible with all the custom ROMs that store theirs in different locations.
     
  8. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a thread that explains the various commands to use the terminal with?

    Like how would you tell the terminal to clear Dalvik?

    Also, didn't I see that as an option in ClockworkMod?
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
Search tags for this page
clockworkmod clear data
,
clockworkmod data wipe
,
clockworkmod restore laggy
,

clockworkmod wipe data

,

clockworkmod wipe data factory reset

,
restore clockworkmod need to wipe data
,
will factory reset deleat backup data clockworkmod
,
wipe data clockworkmod
,
wipe data in clockwork mode
,
wipe mod