Clockwork update.zip error "status 6"

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by chevycam94, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. chevycam94

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +63
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW)
    Trying to install a modified update.zip I made, and I keep getting an error, Status 6. If I swap in say, Pete's updater_script, into the update.zip, then try to install again, it works just fine. So I have narrowed it down to the updater-script. Not sure whats holding me back here.

    Is there anything special I should do to the updater-script file? signing the zip file doesnt change anything. What gives here?
     
  2. tmcb82

    tmcb82 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem.... any help would be great! Thanks!
     
  3. chevycam94

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +63
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW)
    Tmcb82. Send me your zip and I will fix it. Status 6 is basically trying to read a file that's not encoded in UNIX. Thanks ChevyNo1 for pointing that out!
     
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm getting this same problem with a completely different phone and recovery.

    What a pain. All I did to the update.zip was take some things OUT of the update-script, and remove some files from the files within update.zip, and re-sign the zip file.

    Hmmm...
     
  5. tmcb82

    tmcb82 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you edit the updater-script with only a true unix compatiable editor like notepad or notepad++ NOT wordpad or alike as it make it unreadable by android and produce an error 6. :)
     
  6. pkopalek

    pkopalek New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh, that's exactly what I did too, I used Wordpad, because of how it parses the lines 'better looking' than Notepad for me.

    Thanks for your help. That's perfect.
     
  7. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You do realize this thread is over a year old?
     
  8. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
    add another year and still helpful

    it's amazing how many people don't understand that someone besides the op may find the thread useful.. . the info stays for other people with the same question.
     
  9. insink71

    insink71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so are there tools out there for fixing this problem? What if the corruption may or may not be isolated to updater.script? In other words, is there a tool that scans folders and converts any files found not encoded correctly to unix encoding? Thank you for clearly stating the problem. :)

    Rob
     
Search tags for this page

cwm error status 6

,

cwm status 6

,

error status 6

,
status 6
,

status 6 error

,
status 6 error android
,
status 6 error cwm
,
status 6 error cwm fix
,
status 6 error flashing rom
,
twrp error status 6