Clockwork telling me theres not enough space on sd card to backup

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by masprague, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. masprague
    Offline

    masprague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    Not sure if any one else has seen this. I updated clockwork today and decided to try out the nex theme. So after using rom manager to download the rom. I told RM to make a backup. Once it rebooted into clockwork I got a notice that I needed at least 160mb on my sd card. I just checked and I have 11 gigs left

    Any thoughts?
  2. cag0331
    Offline

    cag0331 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same message when trying to perform a backup. I tried both from ROM Manager and from the recovery screen.
  3. camcrobe
    Offline

    camcrobe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central, NY
    ROM Manager backup failed says not enough space on SD

    Been trying to make a a backup with ROM manager (premium) using recovery 1.7.8.1. Backup failed with message that "not enough space on SD card, 150 mb needed". Thing is that I have over 8 GB of free space on the card and even cleaned a bunch of things out. Wiped cache, fix permissions, etc... to no avail. Some (with different ROMS) on CyanogenMod forum are also reporting same

    Recently flashed CyanogenMod 5.0.4.2 went back to UD 8.0.1

    Might anyone have a fix?
  4. camcrobe
    Offline

    camcrobe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central, NY
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  5. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have V1.7.8.1 of the recovery? Please verify.
  6. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I added a space free check to prevent failures, but it seems I got it wrong if the amount free is greater than 4GB... (whoops) And it fails. It should be fixed though in the aforementioned version.
  7. cag0331
    Offline

    cag0331 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I just flashed 1.7.8.1 before I tried to do the backup. I also tried to reflash and it didn't help.
  8. camcrobe
    Offline

    camcrobe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central, NY

    Same here.. using recovery 1.7.8.1.
  9. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm disabling that check and releasing a new recovery. Not sure why this is happening.
  10. camcrobe
    Offline

    camcrobe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central, NY
    Thanks Koush!
  11. cag0331
    Offline

    cag0331 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you!
  12. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The new recovery has been posted. It will warn about free space instead of just erroring out. I'll need to look into why the code to do disk space free is not working properly. Disregard the warning. Sorry for the trouble... and thanks for the prompt bug report!
  13. cag0331
    Offline

    cag0331 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again! That was the fastest bug fix that I've ever seen so I don't think thanks is necessary for me, but you're certainly welcome! Lol
  14. stevonyc35
    Offline

    stevonyc35 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    koush,

    i flashed the new recovery and it said i have v 1.7.8.2. did a backup and still got the same message.
  15. thetruth
    Offline

    thetruth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just flashed 1.7.8.2 and I still get a warning about not having at least 150MB of free space and it won't perform the back up.

    EDIT: I even pressed the fix permission button and I get an error stating that it couldn't access the commands.
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  16. camcrobe
    Offline

    camcrobe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central, NY
    Well I flashed it too (twice). Noticed that it does say 1.7.8.2 in Rom Manager, but when I boot into recovery it says 1.7.8.1. Same free space message.
  17. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I might have jumped the gun a bit. Suspecting the upload from my computer to my mirrors was not done yet. Gimme a sec!
  18. DuneChasin
    Offline

    DuneChasin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    happened to me to. i reflashed to the .2 but in recovery still says .1, im just posting my bug keep up the good work koush. rom manager is awesome
  19. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok guys, done uploading. Try again.
  20. RickyC1990
    Offline

    RickyC1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Flashing now!! :)
Search tags for this page
android rom not enough space
,
cannot finish download not enough space android
,
clockwork cant backup no sd space
,
clockwork recovery manager not enough space
,
clockwork says not enough space on memory card
,
evernote insufficient sd card space
,
not enough room to back up rom manager
,
rom backup memory space
,
rom manager backup no rspace on sdcard
,
unooter does not use all of the sd card
,

unooter not enough space