Clockwork Recovery restore failed

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by jimmiem, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. jimmiem
    Offline

    jimmiem New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I backed up my phone after rooting and getting my phone set up just the way I like it. Yesterday all of the sudden my phone froze and I had to pull the battery to reset it. It would reboot and work for a minute before freezing again, and in that minute I couldn't figure out what was going wrong to cause it to freeze so I finally decided to do a restore.

    I booted into recovery and ran the restore but it failed on recovering the system about 10 seconds in. It said "error deleting system," I believe. I ran it several times, and I tried wiping my phone and restoring again and still no luck. I had to restore to stock and run Easy Root again. Luckily I had a TB of all my apps and the system data. What a pain!

    Has anyone else had to restore their phone with Recovery? I'm scared to do it now because it left me with an unbootable phone.
  2. snake9
    Offline

    snake9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine wouldn't restore either, said wrong md5. Any advice

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  3. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you doing this from within rom manager?

    Try manually booting into CWM and restoring that way.
  4. jimmiem
    Offline

    jimmiem New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was booted into CWM when I experienced issues. I can't test it again without risking another failure that leave me with an unbootable phone.
  5. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I'm running a ClockworkMod Recovery 3.0.2.4 backup right now so I can try some kernels. Maybe I shouldn't rely on that to get me out of trouble when things get bad? lol....
  6. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @BigM - I know after rooting mine I made a back up through Rom Manager and it didnt go through. Needed to go back and ended up not having a stock bakup.
  7. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I went with Adrynalyne's 1.9 Kernel for Sense. No problems here. Loving this kernel. Won't be testing more till CWM gets fixed. Thanks for the info guys.
  8. sk8
    Offline

    sk8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    I've been waiting before doing anything for this reason. I've downloaded airborne and a perfect storm but am hesitant with the device still being so new. I'll let the more knowledgeable beta test.

    sent from a sweet paper weight.
  9. Mustang02
    Online

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I've been running Perfect Storm since release, no issues. It's fast and debloated.
  10. sk8
    Offline

    sk8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Have you tried to restore a backup?
    I made a backup after rooting, cw seemed to back it up as usual but with the above mentioned problems about failure to restore has me a little more weary to flash something else.

    sent from a sweet paper weight.
  11. Mustang02
    Online

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    No I haven't. XDA has a thread on how to restore.

    CWM Problems - xda-developers

    This appears to be the root cause and fix.
  12. sportadic22
    Offline

    sportadic22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    soo let me get this straight?... cwm and thunderbolt ... its not letting us recover a back up we have made?
    ive made 2 backups now.. both went thru smoothly.
    have not tried going to a previous backup..no need.

    people are having issues with going back to previous backups? ahhh crap thats not good?
  13. sk8
    Offline

    sk8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    It would be nice to test if it works before actually needing it to work.
    I'm stock now so restoring stock could be useful.
    The problem seems to be with clockwork failure to wipe the system.
    Gonna give it a go.


    sent from a sweet paper weight.
  14. jimmiem
    Offline

    jimmiem New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @sk8 I look forward to your report.
  15. sk8
    Offline

    sk8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    All restored fine. Booted to clock work via Rom manager, restored as usual.

    sent from a sweet paper weight.
  16. mark3748
    Offline

    mark3748 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Just want to reiterate this, if you're having this issue, take these steps, some have had issues with CWR working right on their phone (not being able to wipe data/cache) and this fixes it.

    Select the clear download cache and wipe recovery options, reinstall CWR 3.0.2.4
  17. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am able to make backups fine, but when I go to restore is get "unable to restore /system" message.


    I'll try the fix from xda
  18. wooddale
    Offline

    wooddale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    I tried to root my TB everything went perfect got superuser rom manager in app drawer but cant go into clockwork except if I turn my phone off and plug into charger it boots into clockwork Whats up
  19. sk8
    Offline

    sk8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Did you make sure to fix permissions ? Have you tried to enter recovery through hboot?

    sent from a sweet paper weight.
  20. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was never able to boot my phone up into recovery after being off. I can get to Hboot, but it always starts the update process. After it is done loading the zip I only have an option to accept or decline the update.
Search tags for this page

android recovery failed to boot 2 atrix

,
clockwork recovery restore system fail
,
failed to restore clockwork
,

htc restore failed