clockwork mod recovery

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by sandfreak, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm having a few issues with a new rom i tried to flash

    i'm not too familiar with clockwork mod recovery, i was wondering if someone could help me out.

    after i flashed using rom manager, the new rom gets stuck at the boot animation.

    i know how to get into recovery holding the x and power button, but i'm not sure how to wipe data and cache from there

    a lot of times that seems to help to wipe a few times (i wiped once)

    then after i wipe where do i find the new rom in clockwork recovery to load it up again?

    thanks a lot for the help
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    wiping data/cache does not affect clockwork so you should still be in CW after doing those.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    What's your bootloader version?
     
  4. *86eyerok*

    *86eyerok* Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same issue awhile back. What I had to do is flash the clockworkmod recovery back a version to 2.0.2.4. I was getting the boot loop when I was flashed to the new version 2.5.0.1.
     
  5. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the quick responses everybody, i haven't had many problems flashing roms in the past so it shows how little i know now that i do have a problem

    i see a lot of times to wipe a few times before flashing a new rom but i always do once through rom manager because i don't know how to do it more than once. I don't know how to wipe data and cache without using rom manager is what i'm trying to say

    as for bootloader...i don't even know what that is... :( sorry for my ignorance
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    If you have CW working fine then you don't need to worry about it. :) Asking was a knee-jerk reaction, but it did tell me some things anyway.

    Okay, when you get into CW recovery, one of the options should be for wiping data. I'm on SPRecovery so I can't tell you exactly, but once you get in there you should wipe data 2-3x for every option given before installing a ROM UNLESS you are coming from one version of the same ROM to another. Even then you might have to and the Dev should tell you if a wipe is required.
     
  7. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did see something that said wipe data/cache but it said partitioned after it and i wasn't sure if that's the correct option, so i didn't want to go ahead with it before confirmation from some people that actually know what they're doing lol

    so i'll go ahead and do that, but after i do that how do i find the rom that i just downloaded through rom manager?
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Your best bet is to move it to the root of your SD card so you always know where it is.

    It should be in the standard location ROM Manager puts it -- but I don't use ROM Manager because it seems to like screwing things up at the worst possible time, so I don't know where that is! :)

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/koush/75460-cm6-final-here-17.html#post790564

    Zerosouls' method of installing a ROM.
     
  9. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    there's 2 options

    wipe data/factory reset

    or wipe cache partition

    which do i do?
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Is that CW or SPRecovery?
     
  11. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    after i wiped cache twice, it proceeded further into the boot animation than before but still freezes up. i'm stumped (but thats not saying much)
     
  12. sandfreak

    sandfreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockworkmod
     
Search tags for this page

clockworkmod droid charge download

,

clockworkmod recovery 2.5.0.1

,

download clockwork recovery 2.5.0.1