Clockwork mod recovery installed onto droid 3!!!

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by kedens, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. kedens
    Offline

    kedens New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dancedroidDeveloper HASHCODE has managed to install a custom recover onto the Droid 3. It looks like there may be treasure at the end of the rainbow!dancedroid

    (The link above will bring you to Hashcode's Github profile, but be aware that at the time of posting there is not a stable version uploaded, nor are there any instructions, but I would keep checking back)

    Read the story on Droid-Life HERE

    View attachment 40268


    ALL CREDIT GOES TO HASHCODE
    dancedroidI had nothing to do with this but am excited that ROMS MAY BE POSSIBLE SOONER THAN LATER!!!dancedroid
  2. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    This is from KrazyKravidia on XDA about the Github link. lol

    Apparently they'll be releasing a Bootstrap App similar to the D2/DX one.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  3. Bullitt6996
    Offline

    Bullitt6996 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Thank God, can't wait to get a hold of this.... Good Work guys!!
  4. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm getting Goosebumps!!!!
  5. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Droid 3 bootstrap released today! Check it out over at rootzwiki! Where the ROM's at??? Who's working on what? Good Lord am I excited to get Moto's stupid blur off here. (I do like some of the apps they included though, truth be told). I bet this phone flies with stock AOSP ROM's on board! Good time to be alive!
  6. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    ROM Flashing isn't working yet
  7. jtrag
    Offline

    jtrag New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my Droid 3 Rooted the first try with no problem at all. I got it back up and running fully rooted with latest versions of BusyBox and SuperUser and was installing some apps and then an Update notification popped up saying there way a ROM update for it and I ended up hitting the wrong button and updating the ROM and then when it reflashed/rebooted it was no longer rooted.

    Thing is, now I can't get it rooted properly... It's odd. Busy Box is installed but Superuser says it isn't even though I manually installed it several times even after Factory Resetting my Droid 3...

    Any ideas why this would be happening? It was working fine but then it auto-updated the ROM right after I rooted and un-rooted it and now I can't root it again fully. Busybox shows as installed but Superuser does not (EVEN THOUGH IT IS)... This is really odd...

    :blackdroid::motdroidhoriz::motdroidvert:
  8. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You have to reroot after the update. Updates usually break root.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. jtrag
    Offline

    jtrag New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just rooted it and it was working fine and then the update came in and broke root.

    Now I CAN NOT reroot it! The funny thing is that it still says BusyBox is installed and working properly, yet I don't have root access to anything. I've even tried reinstalling SuperUser (Which is the cause of the issue since the "su" files are stuck in there now and the 1 click root method DOES NOT overwrite the su file/s and just gives an error saying that it failed because the SuperUser files alredy exist, yet still says it succeeded at rooting the phone again.

    The problem is, I've factory reset my phone several times now and everything and I can NOT get it to reroot. Them stupid su files aren't overwritten by the 1 click root program and therefore it fails and I have no way of fixing it... Unless you know of a way? :icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek:
  10. harshlad
    Offline

    harshlad New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe you can reroot it.

    It is worked by reflashing ROM image with RSD lite.
    You maybe able to find Droid_3_SBF_5.6.890.zip the official ROM, run RSD lite and go flashing.
    Then run PetesMotorolaRootTools_v1.06, maybe it'll work.
Search tags for this page

clockwork droid 3

,
clockworkmod for droid 3
,
custom droid 3 bootstrap hashcode
,
custom roms for droid 3
,
droid 3 clockworkmod recovery
,
droid 3 recovery bootstrap
,

droid 3 sbf 5.6.890.zip

,
how to install clockworkmod on droid 3
,
how to install clockworkmod recovery on motorola droid 3
,
install cwm droid 3
,
installing cwm recovery on droid 3
,
motorola droid 3 clockworkmod