Clock wont drop below 600mhz while charging?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by vrdubin6, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    No matter what I set the charging profile to in SetCPU it wont drop below 600mhz when plugged in. Even if I uncheck the charging profile or dont use profiles in general. Any ideas on this? I figure it will lower my temps while charging, and perhaps charge quicker if I could get it to settle at 250mhz.

    I am using Adamz low voltage 1ghz kernel and Ultimate Droid 7.8.

    Thanks in advance fellas.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Mine is set at 250/450. I did have to reboot once I first upgraded to SG6.0 because my settings also weren't working as I expected. Even if you set yours to 250/250 it won't drop?

    btw, on the way home today I had it in the car cradle and found I had to up the CPU speed when I had google earth tilted at an angle and the images were streaming past. Beautiful Widgets fc'd and the SlideShowWidget fc'd because it was plugged in and charging and too much was going on for 400mhz to handle.
  3. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Correct... No matter what i set it to it will not drop. It will go higher if I allow it to... But it just wont go below 600. I've rebootedto no avail as well.
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And you're looking at the current operating speed within the SetCPU app?
  5. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Yeah.. I will refresh it a few times and it will bounce between 600 and 800 every now and again if I have it set at like 250/800. I am thinking about flashing the medium voltage kernel just to see if it makes a difference.
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didnt ask to make you feel stupid or anything, just making sure that you werent watching the widget or something.

    What happens if you set the slider to 250? Usually the phone wont drop to 250 unless it's asleep, in which case you wouldnt be able to see that it's underclocked.
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Do you have any widgets?
  8. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Hah no worries I didnt take it that way. Mine will drop to 250 quite a bit if I am not doing anything when unplugged. Even if I set the profile to 250/250 when charging it will just sit at 600mhz.
  9. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Well... I just discovered something quite odd. When plugged into my computer it will drop to 250... when plugged into the wall it will not. :icon_eek:
  10. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.

    That is weird. But makes some sense, a lot less power coming out of usb port. Maybe try a different outlet? Could be a kernel issue though so if nothing else try a new one and see what happens.
  11. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I have tried outlets and home and at my office.. same result. I tossed on a different kernel with the same result as well. Its not too big of an issue.. I guess I was just kind of curious if it was common. I appreciate the feedback though guys.:rockon:

    Here is a screenshot as well..

    [​IMG]
  12. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm out of ideas. I'm not sure what you should do... Sorry dude.
  13. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What ROM (and version), and kernel are you running. With one of the older ROMs/kernels, this was an issue, but it was fixed in an update....
  14. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I stated in my first post that I am running Ultimate Droid 7.8 with Adamz latest kernel. I have tried low and medium voltage 1ghz flashes with no difference.
  15. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, somehow I missed that in the first post. Anyway, I can't remember if it was a kernel issue or a ROM issue. Maybe try one of Chevy's kernels, and if it reacts the same, try a different ROM. If switching ROMs fixes it, then you'll need to let the ROM builder know.
  16. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just noticed that mine stays at 500mHz when plugged into a wall charger, no matter what I set that profiles max to. I posted on Adam's forum over on alldroid to see if he can help. I hadn't actually looked at this since they fixed the issue with it always sticking at 600 a while back.
  17. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can confirm the same issue. Running smoked glass 6.0.1 ROM with 1GHz low voltage kernel. My phone will not go under 600 while charging no matter what I have the profile set for. I hope this gets fixed soon as it would be much better if the cpu could scale between 250 and 600 while charging.