clock widget off?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by dfarns, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. dfarns
    Offline

    dfarns New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm on 2.3.3 and tried two different clock widgets only to find out that when im not on the home page, where the clock widget is set, it does not keep up w/ the correct time. is anyone else having this problem and/or is it a setting im over looking? sry if there is another thread for this and thanks in advance for your help
  2. Jester822
    Offline

    Jester822 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you by chance running a task killer of some sort. That's the only reason I can think of. They say you shouldn't run real killers with froyo on up. If you're going to though, you need to exclude certain apps and processes.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. dfarns
    Offline

    dfarns New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IThank you so much for your reply jester822. No im not running any task killers will not put another one on my phone after reading about why you shouldn't (im a noob and I have been researching so much I wish I could remember who did the write-up that I wrote so I can give the proper credit) and if someone is reading this that has not looked into "why task killers are obsolete", jester822 brings up a great point and I also recommend you looking into it, but I digress. However, I really appreciate your reply jester822 and if you or anyone else have another suggestion I will be happy to listen/read...of course. Lol happy droiding to all!
  4. Jester822
    Offline

    Jester822 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. I'm sorry I have no other suggestions other than to say I have used Beautiful Widgets and Simi clock widget on numerous roms without issue. Ooh...Have you by chance done any memory manager type tweaks?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. dfarns
    Offline

    dfarns New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No mem changes, besides clearing the cache...however ever sense I have switched over from 2.2 to 2.3.3 I have been working on getting rid of a wi-fi lag/spike at home , im just woundering if that is the problem although I have heard that gingerbread has always had a backed in problem with this wifi issue...so if this is the case I may just revert back to 2.2, I have sdlite all ready to go and it looks easy enough for a noob to do...lol from what I have been reading I assume I have to sbf in order to go from 2.3.3 to 2.2 (stock). Just woundering if I will have to reroot, its not a big deal if I do ...I can use all the practice, however like many of us this little device is our "life line" and if everything goes smooth Im sure I can get it done withen an hr or so, however if not it could take...well who knows how long...but with all the great post and help I have viewed/received in the forums from all of you guys im very positive that my phone is going to be save whatever the situation. Thanks again for more help and sticking with my issue(s)...happy droiding to all!
  6. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I don't know if you have sbf'd yet, but to answer your question, yes an sbf is required to go back to 2.2. Once you sbf, you will have to re-root. I don't know how you rooted the first time around, but if you find an apk for z4root, it's a 1-click process. z4root sometimes craps out, and the apps needs to be restarted a few times before it's successful. But if you do it before loading any other apps, I find that it has a higher success rate. If you need a z4root apk, let me know and I can post one for you.

    Also, if you have any questions of problems during the sbf process, just come right back here to the forums and I'm sure someone will help you. (I know I will if I'm around)

    Feel free to send me a private message if you need anything.
Search tags for this page
clock widget cyanogenmod 7
,

how to take widgets off droid