clean install

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by trink08, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    To clean install a ROM you're suppose wipe cache, wipe davlik, wipe data/factory reset. Should you also format system? Anything else?
     
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    You can format system, but technically you don't need to since the rest should take care of it for you. Typically I do the reset, format system, and then flash my files.
     
  3. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you
     
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    No problem!! If you have any more questions let me know and I will do my best to help out.
     
  5. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice. I just posted a question about titanium backup. When I restore my apps and settings after a wipe and ROM flash, I have to manually install half my apps before it starts auto installing the rest. Any idea how to get it to auto install all of my apps and settings?
     
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Are you just doing user apps or system ones as well? Also, how many apps we talking here? I always use it to restore my user apps, around 40 or so, and have never had to do that.
     
  7. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Between user apps and system data its about 150. After I've manually installed about 70 then it starts auto installing.
     
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Well on a related note, it is not typically the best idea to restore system apps. It is known to cause issues with the ROM, etc. And I wonder if it has something to do with you restoring so many. Did you ever cancel the market downloads and then go back in to restore the rest with TIBU?
     
  9. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The downloads are all through titanium. I restore the system data because I believe that gets my home screens sorted they way they previously were. Are u saying I shouldn't do this?
     
  10. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Most definitely do not restore system data. For the most part, this is the main reason for wiping, to clear out system data between ROMs. The reason being is that some big changes can occur between different ROMs, even different builds of the same ROM. There are some things you can backup and restore perhaps without issue, but as a general rule of thumb restoration of system data between ROMs is not a good idea.

    If you want to backup and restore your homescreens, you can use a custom launcher (Apex launcher, Nova Launcher, Holo Launcher, and many others are out there), they often come with the ability to make a backup of it's setup. So that when you reinstall them on your new ROM, you can just restore and it restores all your preferences and screen setups that you have backed up from a previous ROM. The stock launcher doesn't have this option.
     
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Sorry, went to work. Cupfulloflol answered the question pretty thoroughly, just wanted you to know I was not ignoring you :)
     
  12. trink08
    Offline

    trink08 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its all good. Thank you. And thank you cupfulloflol
     
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    No problem!
     
  14. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    No problem. Glad I could help.
     
  15. tcmotu
    Offline

    tcmotu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No OS Installed

    I was updating my GN from 4.1 to 4.1.1 using TWRP but did something wrong I guess because I got the message: Cannot reboot ... no OS installed.

    All I get is 'Google' and the unlocked padlock when I turn it on or turn it on with volume up and on button. With volume down and the on button I get 'Odin mode' in read top left and 'Start' in an arrow pointing to the on button. That takes me to 'Google' and the unlocked padlock.

    Plugged in to my PC via USB the computer recognises a Samsung MTP device but it doesn't show under My Computer ...

    Any suggestions?
     
Search tags for this page
android clean install
,
clean android install
,

clean install android

,
clean install android rom
,

clean install galaxy s3

,
galaxy nexus clean flash
,
galaxy s3 clean install
,

galaxy s3 no os installed

,
s3 clean install
,

samsung galaxy s3 clean install