Chrome to Phone not working?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Eddog4DROID, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know of an issue with Chrome to Phone and BB .4?

    I also know that in the market it says it needs updates but the install fails.

    But that is not the main problem, the main problem is the pre-bundled app doesn't appear to do anything.
     
  2. Rogziel

    Rogziel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uninstall the app, and make sure you have this one installed: Google Chrome to Phone - Android app on AppBrain

    Once you do that see if it starts working again.

    You know that you need to be using the chrome browser on your PC right? and there is a extension for it that you have to get. I'm not saying you don't have them, I'm just covering all the bases.
     
  3. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ha. I know how to use Chrome to Phone, but I appreciate the follow-up.


    Where do I uninstall. In the market, it only says "Install". The there is an error when I try -- something about "Package file was not signed correctly".

    The app comes with Bugless Beast, correct? so how would I even uninstall in the first place?
     
  4. Rogziel

    Rogziel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to settings>Apps>Chrometophone>Uninstall
     
  5. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope can't uninstall it that way either (remember, it comes with BB). All I can do is clear the cache which I did and that didn't change anything.

    Also, when I try to register the device, it says "Device not registered".
     
  6. Rogziel

    Rogziel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    If its not in manage apps, then I have no clue.

    @_@
     
  7. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    ChromeToPhone is installed in /system/app/ and not in data/app/ on BB v0.4. So you'll have to use Root Explorer to delete the apk from system/app/, use BB toolkit to run the Chrome2Phone script, use ADB to uninstall the system app, or use Terminal Emulator to uninstall the system app.

    ADB and Terminal emulator are the 2 most correct ways to completely uninstalling a system app.

    ADB:
    adb remount
    adb shell rm -f /system/app/<apk name>.apk (case sensitive)
    adb uninstall <package name> (case sensitive)

    Terminal Emulator:
    su mount -o rw,remount /system
    rm -f /system/app/<apk name>.apk (case sensitive)
    pm uninstall <package name> (case sensitive)
     
  8. kutuzov

    kutuzov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried the Terminal Emulator but first it says permission denied...

    and also what would be the apk name in this case?
     
  9. Rogziel

    Rogziel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you sure you did su mount -o rw,remount /system right? because that give your the permission.
     
  10. webmagnets

    webmagnets New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the same error. And I definitely typed what you suggested.
     
  11. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Try
    Code:
    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/null /system
    # whatever you are doing
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/null /system
    
    You can replace "/dev/null" with "dev/block/mtd4" if you wish but as long as you aren't in recovery mode "/system" should already be mounted so specifying the correct block isn't necessary.

    Also, FireFox also has a plugin if for some reason you don't like the Chrome browser. I can attest that the latest CTP works with both FireFox plugin and the Chrome extension using Bugless. Or at least SHOULD work :)

    Edit: Oh crap I forgot. You are running BB. Pete has scriphts to mount system. Instead of the mount commands above you can just type
    Code:
    su
    sysrw
    # whatever you are doing
    sysro
    
     
  12. kutuzov

    kutuzov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is what i get

    Code:
    $ su
    # sysrw
    sysrw not found 
    #
    im running BB v. 0.4 with chevy kernels.
     
Search tags for this page
chrome adb android not working
,
chrome not launching phone
,
chrome not working on android phone
,
chrome not working on phone tethering
,
chrome to phone
,

chrome to phone not working

,
chrome to phone says no email registered
,
chrome to phone stopped working just says to sign in but already signed in
,
device not registered for user
,
device not registered for user.