Chrome remote desktop app

Discussion in 'Android News' started by pc747, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,711
    Likes Received:
    1,814
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,872
    uploadfromtaptalk1397673471994.jpg

    Google released in the play store their remote desktop app.
    The app will allow you to securely access your desktop from any tablet or phone. Will this be an app you find useful in your everyday life or is this too little to late?

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.chromeremotedesktop
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    765
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +786
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I've used Splashtop in the past and liked it, but that always required me to keep my PC on (I've always turned it off or put it into standby/hibernation when not in use). A few times it was helpful, but overall I've used it less and less because of what our phones can do. Glad to see Google released a remote desktop app though, may install just to give it a try.
     
  3. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    629
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +643
    I'm pretty sure we'll use it, I know I will. I recently got a co-worker to install the Chrome browser on his work laptop. We've been using an app by Autodesk & Dropbox to access drawing from Autocad in the field. But there have been times where he forgot to upload files to Dropbox, so we couldn't access drawing remotely. Curious to see if this app will help

    Tapped from a Nexus
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    629
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +643
    I've used Splashtop too. But it was hard for me to connect unless I was using wifi. This seems easier, but does require your pc to stay on
     
  5. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +374
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I tried it after LogMeIn removed their free access. I didn't like it. Splashtop isn't bad but I decided to go with Microsoft's built in Remote Desktop. It is faster than any other remote app I've found and all I had to do was forward port 3389 in my router to my desktop and enable it in Windows.