Check for Updates

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by silver6054, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, recently every time I try checking for a system update (from About Phone menu) I get "Check for update was not available at this time. Try again later."

    I used to get a message that the system was up to date. Are others getting this error, I don't think I have made changes since it worked.

    Running stock, rooted with frozen bloatware, but even when I unfreeze everything, I still get that message.

    Thanks
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Did you try resetting the phone? How long has this been going on? If it's just today reboot and give it a day.
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got this message for a while when waiting for the most recent d2 update but it ironed itself out after a day like hook said.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  4. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's been a few days, I did a reboot, and battery pull. If it is working for others, I might try a factory reset, as maybe other things are messed up
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it could be global specific and may have to do with some other factors so you might want to wait for someone else to chime in.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  6. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Swirched to wifi, and it seemed to hang. Rebooted, and now I get the expected "Device up to date" message! So... one of those things. And I had tried wifi yesterday.
     
  7. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Generally, I get the "check for updates not available" message when I have the bloatware frozen, but as soon as I defrost it, I either get the update, or the 'system is up to date" message.
     
  8. rage813

    rage813 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you put sync social apps over wifi only then take that off thats why it does it then reboot your phone

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

check for update is not motorolla

,

check for updates droid global 2

,

check for updates is not available

,

check for updates not available at this time droid 2 global

,

dna will not check for update

,

everytime i try to check for updates i get an error message

,

how long does it take for droid bionic to check for update