Check for update was not available at this time. Try again later. PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by morsey58, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know why i keep getting this message when i try to update my phone to gingerbread?

    Please help!!!!!
  2. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Are you rooted or on a custom rom (or were at anytime before?)

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
  3. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Excuse me for being a bit naive but i run through verizon 3g network. Is that what you're asking???

    i really appreciate the help btw. thanks so much!
  4. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i believe my phone is stock.
  5. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    No, what is being asked is did you root your phone, do you have the super user icon in your apps? If you rooted are you running a custom rom like apex or liberty? If so that would be why you cannot update.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Also if you had installed the bootstrap recovery app, that could be the reason. You say you were stock so there's no reason to explain how to remove that pesky but awesome app from your phone

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
  7. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, my phone is stock, and i dont have that bootstrap app.

    To be honest, i really havent tweaked out my phone at all. Bascially a stock phone with a few apps from the android market.

    hmmm. do you think i should bring it back and ask someone at the store where i bought it?
  8. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    They're just going to tell you to factory reset which you said try first anyway. You'll find better and more applicable answers on these forums than with any vz rep.

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
  9. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, exactly.

    Any other ideas??? I have a roomate with the same phone and we've been trying to troubleshoot this for the past week or so.

    Nothing seems to be fixing the problem.

    thx for the help!
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    If you did any modding to the phone, you may not be able to get it. If a reset doesn't work, try a sbf if you want. After that, I don't know what to tell you

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
  11. morsey58
    Offline

    morsey58 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx for advice. i'll keep trying.
  12. csimo
    Offline

    csimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shut the phone off and pull the battery for 30 seconds, then boot it up and check for the update. If you still get the "Try again later" message you're going to have to do a factory reset.
  13. cutiedroid
    Offline

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    May I ask a question? If you turn your phone off then remove the battery, how can its removal have an impact when the phone is already off? Or does this mean that if you pull the battery while the phone is still on it wont have technically lost power?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  14. csimo
    Offline

    csimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you turn your phone "off" it's not really off. The phone is still active in several ways. It's not the same as removing the battery (in other words don't think your phone is really turned off unless you pull the battery).

    Never pull the battery while the phone is active unless you have no other choice.
Search tags for this page
atrix 2 check for update not available
,

atrix check for update not available

,
atrix check for update not available at this time
,
check for update is not available at this time atrix 2
,
check for update not available not available at this time. t
,
check for updates not available at this time atrix
,
droid x update not available
,
my i phone says try again later when trying to update why
,
software update is not available at this time, try again lat
,
software update is not available at this time. try again lat
,
why is my apply update not available t this time
,
why is my software update not available at this time