"Check for update is not available"

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by capncurt86, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. capncurt86
    Offline

    capncurt86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am still getting that same message. It isn't saying "Your device is up to date! No update is necessary at this time." It is saying "Check for update is not available" ....this is getting frustrating.

    I have tried battery pull, factory reset, using wifi only, using 3G only, using LTE only, changing push settings in social networking. My phone is completely stock. It seems there is a bunch of people getting this error in other droid forums and the Motorola forums as well. Am I just the last to get the update or is something wrong with my phone?



    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  2. theefireboy
    Offline

    theefireboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Are you rooted? Did you update to the leaked OTA update a while back? I did and took me off the upgrade path. If so I believe flashing back to stock is your solution.
  3. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm having the same problem.

    I'm rooted, but have not installed any leaked updates, or any other updates for that matter.
  4. SILVER COUPE
    Offline

    SILVER COUPE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    i was getting the same message yesterday, when i got home i switched to wifi, and there it was. took about 5 mins or so to download.
  5. capncurt86
    Offline

    capncurt86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope my phone was never rooted. I just got it last week. I broke my first bionic and got this one from Best Buy for free.

    Still having the same problem.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  6. twikoff
    Offline

    twikoff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having this issue as well.. Not rooted.

    on another forum, alot of people said they got past it by going to.. settings -> battery and data manager -> data delivery -> social applications
    and then unchecking 'sync over wi-fi only'

    but mine wasnt checked in the first place.. so didnt help me :(
  7. stikss
    Offline

    stikss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you're not having any problems with the phone then just stay where u are. My phone was nearly perfect and since i downloaded the update, my battery is way worse, still drops data, and now it periodically stops loading webpages. The only improvement ive seen is the camera... its a little quicker.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. bwlstuff
    Offline

    bwlstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same experience and switching to WIFI was how I got the OTA. In my case, phone is rooted. I unfroze all apps (via Titanium) prior to starting download.
  9. twikoff
    Offline

    twikoff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    until yesterday.. i never really had any problems.. but this morning, it didnt want to power up (acted like it was dead, but after hooking to a charger it came up and immediately had 100% battery)..

    and all day today.. i have had issues with my data getting turned off... i end up going into airplane mode and back out to get lte back connected.

    odd timing, thats for sure
  10. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    As I understand it, when you check for updates, you're sending a signal to the server. If the server is unable to respond due to overload you'd get the "Unavailable" message. I got it from time to time before the OTA and I'm not rooted.

    That being said, a suggestion was put forth that somehow you are unable to synch with the server and a Factory Reset should take care of it. I didn't have to do that, but it was a suggestion. See Post #27 of http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-droid-bionic/184265-unable-check-updates-3.html
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  11. twikoff
    Offline

    twikoff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea, ive seen fac reset mentioned a few times.. but been trying to avoid that

    if i sync backup assistant and then factory restore.. can i sign back in and restore from backup assistant to get apps and configs back?
  12. McGyver777
    Offline

    McGyver777 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use your Gmail account to backup not Verizon backup...that way you can update/change/delete from Web or phone.

    Verizon backup is the devil, once on, you can never cut it off without factory reset.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. twikoff
    Offline

    twikoff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you use your gmail account.. doesnt that just backup books/contacts/gmail/calender?
    what about syncing/backing up apps?


    sorry.. not meaning to hijack this thread...
    so to get it back on track..

    Im still getting check for update is not available at this time..
    just checked with another bionic user in this office, and he didnt have a problem upgrading this morning
  14. jughead75
    Offline

    jughead75 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I knew that I saw this thread somewhere. I asked the same question in the General Dis. forum.

    It has already been discussed here but the only way that I found to correct the trouble was a Factory Reset. I was able to download the update and now when I check I get the proper response, "Your device is up to date." Hope this helps.
  15. Blackhawk13
    Offline

    Blackhawk13 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    I am also getting the "check for updates not available at this time " WTF is going on.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  16. rstfl2009
    Offline

    rstfl2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try connecting to a WiFi network to get the update. I think what Verizon did was disable these updates to be sent out via Verizon network to cut down on the data usage and overloading their network. As soon as you connect to WiFi, check for updates again and hopefully you will get something.
  17. Blackhawk13
    Offline

    Blackhawk13 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Thanks for the help. I did a factory data reset. It came up immediately after. I was not connected to the server.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Last night I performed a factory reset. After the reset, I was able to check for the update, and my phone said that the OTA was available for me. I decided to restore my phone first from Titanium Backup, and then when I subsequently tried to pull the update after that, I received the same old "Check for update is not available at this time." Puzzling.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. Blackhawk13
    Offline

    Blackhawk13 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Maybe it was something in your old settings. Just a guess.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  20. lyrictenor1
    Offline

    lyrictenor1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Well, I'm not sure what in my old settings would have caused it. Obviously, the phone kept root through the factory reset and I was still able to pull the update before restoring the phone via TiBu. I do have Settings>Data and battery manager>...Social networking sync over wiring unchecked.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
back up assistant upgrade check not available
,
backup assistant upgrade check is not available
,
backup assistant verizon upgrade check is not available
,
bionic says check for update is not available at this time
,

check for update is not available at this time droid x2

,

droid x2 check for update not available

,
droid x2 check for update was not available at this time
,
droid x2 system update not available
,
my droid x2 says check for update is not available at this t
,
upgrade check is not available verizon backup assistant
,
why does my droidx says no update necessary when needed
,
your device is up to date no update necessary