Chaton Spam

megraven21

Reaction score
I have been using chaton for several months (so has my family) and a few of us have been getting spam messages from "chicks" with seductive profile pictures. I don't see how to block a person unless they are a "buddy" so all I can do is not open the message and close the chat room but they are still coming. It's driving me nuts! I have all my privacy settings set to where no-one can find me by my cell phone number or Samsung account and only my buddies can see my profile pic. Yesterday I got one of these messages and when I unlocked my phone (note 3) it automatically opened the message chaton cuz the notification was showing on my lockscreen. When it opened, the operating system gave me a message saying it "couldn't open...." something that I didn't read since I backed out as fast as I could, which seems that it was trying to do something to my phone. This morning I opened my phone and my Verizon wireless app was opened, which I did NOT do myself. I NEVER open that app and I use nova launcher and have the app drawer set to open in the same place I was last time and it was in the P-S's, not V for Verizon. Also my volume had been changed.

I've emailed chaton a few days ago but of course I have received no response. What do I do? It was pre-installed on my phone so I can't uninstall the app but even if I could, I am guessing this....thing...has installed something on to my phone to give itself access. How do I fix/stop this? I've ran the free version of Norton and it hasn't picked up any malware and short of a factory reset, I don't know what to do. I don't even know if a factory reset would work. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
M.Raven

bkdodger

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 10+
I would go to settings /manage applications/Chat On/ Clear data and cache ...Also does it give you option to either Turn off ? Also uncheck notifications ..

OP
M

megraven21

Reaction score