Charging problems on OG Droid A855 with Gingerbread (BuglessBeast 2.3.7 GPA19)

Circuitsoft

Reaction score
http://www.peteralfonso.com/2011/10/download-bugless-beast-v-gpa19-android.html

When I plug the charger in, the white LED lights up for just a few seconds and goes out, even though the battery is <5% full. If I pull the cord out, it pops up a box warning me of the 5% battery state. Plugging the cable back in dismisses that box, but does not appear to charge the battery. When the display is off, the red light is solid while the phone's plugged in, and blinking while the phone is unplugged. Even plugged in and idle, the phone eventually kills the battery.

Has anyone else had battery charging issues? Any solutions? This is my first attempt at a non-stock ROM on this phone.

At this point, I'm charging the battery externally on a CC-CV bench supply (I work in EE, so I know how to safely charge a lithium cell).​

Last edited:

Trusstopher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My guess is that the issue is in the battery, not the phone.

Best way to know for sure is to get your hands on another D1 battery and see if it will take a charge or not.

Unless you have already tried that...

OP
C

Circuitsoft

Reaction score
I just flashed the ROM last night, and had absolutely no battery problems before, on FRG83g. The battery is taking a charge on the bench just fine. The only other battery available to me (from my brother's phone) is known to be in worse shape than mine.

Trusstopher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I just flashed the ROM last night, and had absolutely no battery problems before, on FRG83g. The battery is taking a charge on the bench just fine. The only other battery available to me (from my brother's phone) is known to be in worse shape than mine.