Charger amps

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by dmatre, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. dmatre
    Offline

    dmatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Chesterfield, VA
    The ac charger that came with the Droid 2 Global says output is 850mA.
    I have a charger from an old Harmon Kardin GPS that is the type that the USB cable plugs into. It has an output of 1A. Will the 150mA difference hurt anything if I use it to charge the DG2?
    Thanks,
    Don
  2. cavemanbangs
    Offline

    cavemanbangs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it shouldnt hurt anything .. but it might not charge the phone if your using it (like gps nav) .. theres threads in this forum - were people with a lower ma actually lost battery because the current wasn't enough to run the phone and charge the battery at the same time (same thing is true when using a computer with low power output to the usb), but it should at least charge when idle .. i went to amazon spent 5 bucks on an oem motorola charger and crossed my fingers and it seems to be working fine for me with no issues
  3. dmatre
    Offline

    dmatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Chesterfield, VA
    Thanks for the reply. Your reply sounds like you read it as if I would be using fewer mA than the oem. It won't be under the oem by 150mA but rather it will be over the oem by 150mA. Oem = 850mA proposed alternative = 1A.
    My concern isn't if it will be enough to charge it, but rather if I would be riskinging charging it too fast.
    Thanks,
    Don
  4. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is ok even if your charger provides 100A output. Current drawn while charging will be as much as phone needs. As long as charger can provide more than what phone needs everything will be OK.
  5. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    This is correct.
  6. dmatre
    Offline

    dmatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Chesterfield, VA
    Thanks for the replies, very helpful.
    Don
Similar Threads
  1. GrandIllusion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    716
  2. motorn
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    377
  3. sublimewade
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    731
  4. CMDRSTP
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,798
  5. Alchemist945
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,772
Loading...
Search tags for this page
charge amps for a droid razr
,
chargeing amp for incredible 2
,
droid 2 global amp
,

droid amp charge

,
how many amps does a droid razr charge at
,
how many amps does a motorola droid razr need to charge
,
max amps for charge s3
,
maximum amp for a droid x2
,
motorola droid, charger, how many amps output?
,
motorola razr charger amps
,

output amps of motorola razor car charger

,

what amp charger for droid 4

,
what amps should a droid razr m be charged at
,
what amps to charge motorolla razor
,
what is the maximum amps needed to charge a droid x2