changing roms

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by thebird36, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am currently rooted and have the squidly ROM on i'm looking to try out some other roms to see if i like em im looking to try out the new unleashed 3.0 and the new fission ROMs. Exactly what would i need to do to change the ROMs, would i need to SBF or just restore a nandroid (which i have)?
     
  2. wmnomore

    wmnomore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should only need to sbf if your phone is stuck and unable to return to recovery.
    You restore nandroids to return to a previous rom that you saved.

    There should be instructions in the first post of each rom telling you how to install. Follow closely.

    Has anyone used Team Black Hat's rom on the D2? I was thinking about getting it (1.99), but I would be ticked if there wasn't any roms for us. Looks like many DX comments in the market app.
     
  3. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    so as i asked b4 do i need to sbf or use a nandroid to return to stock b4 putting on another ROM? lol i just want to be on the safe side and not all ROMs tell you about coming from previous ROMs
     
  4. karnovaran

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would SBF to ensure you have a clean system. ROM flashing on the D2 doesn't clean up the extras custom ROMs put on your system partition, so you'd likely have leftover items that may get in the way.

    My advice would be to SBF to clean and then nandroid backup your stock system so you can just use that in the future instead of SBFing again.
     
  5. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I do have a nandroid of my stock I believe cause I did a clear and wipe data and cache about 3 weeks ago and I think I did a factory reset from the clockwork mod

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah I did a factory reset through clockwork I just checked on clockwork to make sure there was a factory reset

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is a factory reset good enough or should I sbf?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always just nandroid back to my stock rooted setup and then flash the new rom, I don't even wipe. Now, if I have bugs or other issues, then I wipe and reinstall the new rom. Just make sure you have the sbf ready to go just incase and someone correct me if I'm wrong please but if your stock rooted nandroid is on the old 2.2.20 don't flash back to that one or you will have to sbf.
     
Search tags for this page
change rom
,

changing roms

,
clean wipe android when changing roms
,
do i have to flash back to stock rom before changing custom
,
droid 4 what to backup before changing roms
,
how to change roms
,
how to switch roms on safescrape