Changing res file on market apps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ashkev843, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok I have figured out how to change system apps..but today I tried to make a few color changes to beautiful widgets. Did them on the cpu put them back on the scard compressed with 7 zip tried to install it and it will not install..any help would be great
     
  2. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since all youre doing is changing pictures you dont need to reinstall.
    Do this:

    1. get file onto computer
    2. rename from .apk to .zip
    3. make your changes
    4. rename from .zip BACK to .apk
    5. put the file onto your sdcard (adb, mount, etc..)
    6. if mount was used then dismount now
    7. open up cmd prompt and type this:
    From there you should be good to go...
     
  3. tdawg5480

    tdawg5480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    if they are protected apps i believe they need to be resigned or so i have been told by sufbs dev as i wanted a blue icon not red
     
  4. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That sounds kinda fishy to me. I was able to change the icon for dolphin... I dunno.
     
  5. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so according to developers.android.com ALL apps have to be signed in order to be installed. That said since the app is already installed what you would do is copy over the apk for edit and then just move it back essentially just replacing the apk file. Do not try to reinstall the app it will more than likely give you an error. Just replace the file and you should be good. Again, I could be off..
     
  6. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was able to do mods to my Beautiful Widgets. I modified the images, re-signed with Droid Explorer, re-installed the app. But when re-installing this time you need to have the "Unknown sources" checked under Applications on the phone. Been running it a few weeks now with no issues.
    If an update comes down and you decide to update it, you just need to the process over again.
     
  7. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay I put on droid explorer...can you give me steps on how to do the signing with droid explorer...cant seem too figure it out. thanks
     
  8. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why dont you try to do it without signing first and let us know if it works...
     
  9. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried to but it will not install..tried to push it to data/app and that did not work either by
     
  10. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright I changed the name on it to Beautifulwidgets.apk and pushed it to the /system/app and there it is with all my changes no questions asked and is working perfect so far.