changing boot animation

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by dominus, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. dominus

    dominus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i assume something was rewritten on this because i tried root explorer and moving my bootanimation.zip to the data/local with no change. i also tried using the update.zip method. but the only way to change it was through setting and that just deletes or minimizes? it

    i want my droid beating/peeing on apple back
     
  2. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do not put bootanimation.zip in data/local/or /system/media/

    Instead, rename the file to realbootanimation.zip and place it in /system/media/
     
  3. the_kwa

    the_kwa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice, was just about to ask the same question
     
  4. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    also, you have to keep the bootanimation thing in options on the "full" option because otherwise it wont show ;).
     
  5. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...I'm trying to change mine to...but when I go to paste it it says that I don't have permission to do so...is there something I am missing?
     
  6. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    You must be using a program as root (Astro doesnt work) and the system must be mounted in erad/write mode (ShadowRom Settings -> Misc Settings -> Uncheck Read Only)
     
  7. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...so I have followed your instructions, but when I got to put it into the /system/media folder it says you cannot paste here because the file system is read-only. I have changed my ShadowROM settings, copied the .zip to my sdcard, renamed it realbootanimation, but still cant move it...
     
  8. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you're using root explorer, just touch the little white button on the top right that says R/W and it will switch to R/O or Read/Only. I'm really not sure the reasoning behind the boot animations on shadow, why 4 is needed in system/media is a little confusing when all other ROMs get by fine with just 1 or none. I kinda get the first boot thing, but it's really not necessary.
     
  9. motoconvert

    motoconvert Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOOHOO!! Thank you soooo much...that worked!!!!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are 3 boot animations.

    realbootanimation.zip is the normal animation that gets displayed as usual.

    firstboot.zip is the animation that plays when you first install the rom. It also plays again if you ever wipe your data partition.

    queuebootanimation.zip plays whenever you have started a System Queue process (an added feature of mine, exclusively to shadowrom).

    bootanimation.zip is not a file, and is simply a symlink ("shortcut" for you Windows users) that points to one of the above 3 animations, which is determined upon boot which will be used. This symlink gets deleted on every boot and replaced with a symlink to one of the 3 above. If you replace this with your own actual zip file, then it will be deleted on next boot. Please replace one of the other 3, depending on which you want to replace.

    Yes, its not really *needed*, per say... But neither is root, or any of these other modifications any of the Rom developers do. I added these new animations to the bootup to prevent users from waiting 30 seconds and saying "oh well, its boot-looped" and giving up prematurely. ;)
     
    #10 billygalbreath, Nov 16, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2010
  11. dbst

    dbst Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    THEY ARE TOO NEEDED!!! :tongue:
     
Search tags for this page

how to change boot animation custom rom