Changed phone number....

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by YAMA, Oct 23, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...but they failed to tell me that it would kind of reset my phone. I'm mostly just worried about the apps. If I go into file viewer I can find them. But my question is how the heck do I get them back in the menu? Some of my contacts are missing information too. Any help would be appreciated. Oh, I havent filled out my sig yet. But its a droid X.
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    You apps are associated with your Google account. Once you complete the reactivation you can open the Market and tap menu, tap downloads. All of you apps will be there.

    If you use Gmail your contacts are stored in your Gmail account. Once you recreate the account and sync the Gmail contacts will return.

    I hope this is helpful.

    Mike
  3. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    All of the paid ones were deffinitely there. I'm still missing contacts and contact information though. When I was reading through some of the other threads it said something about restoring with Astro. I had and have astro. But I dont see anything that would allow me to do a restore using this.
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Unless you backed up the information in Astro you will not be able to restore.

    Have you added you Gmail account to your email app?
  5. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I have the Gmail setup again. I went in and unchecked then re-checked the boxes next to synch contacts, calendar, etc. It had the animation which I believe is to show it synching.
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a rooted Droid so my experiences may be different than yours. I believe, however, that the moving green circle means that you have synced your phone. Are the contacts you want to restore in you Gmail account or are they FaceBook contacts?
  7. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are both. I've actually already re-added most of them now. But I'll remember to backup with Astro in the future. Thankyou very much for all the help though. :)
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sure! Keep in mind that the FB contacts are not stored in your Gmail account. Sorry I was not more helpful.

    Mike
  9. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I suppose instead of starting a new thread.... Now I cannot get my phone to come up on my pc. Instead of seeing droid x. All it shows in computer is the "cd drive" motorola icon. I've tried reinstalling the software along with updating the drivers. No dice though.
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you enable the USB debugging?
  11. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize but I'm unfamiliar with that.
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    On my Droid I tap menu, tap settings, tap applications, tap development, tap USB debugging
  13. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it turned on, but now when I connect all it gives me is a generic cd drive without the motorola icon.
  14. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I do not have any other suggestions, sorry. I tried to contact the rescue squad members that have X's but currently, non are on Gtalk.
  15. YAMA
    Offline

    YAMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I'll keep playing around with it. I really appreciate all the help! :)